is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Weekend.

On Friday Jeff and Caroleen and I had some Japanese food. We sat at a counter, and there was some sort of heat source below the counter that made me feel panic-hot. So Caroleen traded seats with me. We were all OK. On the way home Caroleen decided we would try the ice cream at Cold Stone Creamery. I love ice cream but for some reason have never been able to get myself to enter one of those establishments. I'm not sure why. Perhaps I fear change (despite what the horoscopes always say about Geminis loving change). Anyway, I had some TASTY cake-batter-flavored ice cream. With coconut and almonds mixed in. And it tasted exactly like cake batter. With coconut and almonds mixed in, and made into ice cream. That made me happy. It also made me momentarily sad when the way-too-happy workers at CSC broke into song about ice cream. There is NO WAY they love their jobs that much. No, they have somehow been conditioned or threatened into smiling and singing. Their cheerfulness frightens me.

On Saturday I had brunch at Levon's place (AKA St. Francis) with Evany, Caroleen and Heidi, for Heidi's birthday. St. Francis has a new and expanded menu, and now you can opt for banana bread instead of toast, and if you do that, you will receive a piece of banana bread that has been grilled on the grill. And you will be very happy. Then we went to see Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby. We all loved it very much. Later on I met Natalie and Scott for dinner at Chow, and drinks at Dalva. Heidi joined us for drinks. Then we went to Richard's birthday party. He was perky and happy even though he had just arrived, jet-lagged, from Vienna. It was good to see him.

On Sunday I went to the Stanford Aquatic Center with Caroleen and Evany to watch diving and synchronized swimming. That was pretty fun, too. Then I watched three hours of the BBC show "Life on Mars" with Caroleen while we ate Goat Hill Pizza.

In other news, back when I was in Yosemite, I kept waking up and then laughingly complaining to Caroleen and Halliday about how literal and uninteresting my dreams were. "Last night I dreamed that I had to watch my footing very carefully while making my way down the gravelly slope of a mountain." "Last night I dreamed that there was a bear outside the tent who wasn't dangerous to us because there was a wood shed full of food 100 feet away." But then, on my last night there, I dreamt about marmots, but in my dream the marmots looked just like Moomintrolls! (BTW, check out this cute Moomintroll on ice mug.)

I still am itching to write more about the 18 hours of Drum Corps competition I watched, but right now I'm TIRED. (If you follow the link it will lead you to the front page of the DCI site, and there will be a photo of the winners, the Cavaliers, and you'll think, "that looks fucking crazy!", and you'll be right.) I was also happy to see that the Phantom Regiment moved up to second place, because their Faust theme and pentagram marching formation IMPRESSED me (though, to be sure, the craziness of the Glassmen's Mastery and Madness program's interpretation of Beethoven's decline into deafness deserves some attention as well... it actually incorporated dissonance and silence into the routine! And then there's the Crossmen's Changing Lanes radio-format performance. But I'm writing about all this LATER).

10:27 p.m. - August 13, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me