is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So You Think You Can Dance?

On Monday, after my last French class, Adam and Julia picked me up at Alliance Fran�aise and we went and ate East German food at Walzwerk with Evany and Marco. The waiter was very excited because apparently his son is a huge fan of Adam�s show. Adam told him how much he loves meeting all the kids interested in science. It was sweet. Lots of sausage and carbohydrates were ordered, and also beer. Then we had a dessert called Cold Dog, made of layers of cookies and low-quality chocolate. It was tasty and we tried to get more, but they were out. Somehow it felt very East German.

On Tuesday I hung out with John Vanderslice in Dolores Park. That was fun. He is a favorite of mine, for certain. So nice and earnest and smart, interesting, talented. A good guy. We talked about lots of things, and I asked him some pointed questions about music and songwriting to wrap up the interview process, and he answered even my hard questions without blinking, honestly. We laughed about lots of things, and shivered at the not-so-warm San Francisco weather. He�s a lot like me in a bunch of uncanny not immediately visible ways, so sometimes talking to him is like looking in a mirror. A real mirror, the kind that shows you both good and bad things. Anyway. At some point we were discussing how, even though lots of people tend to assume that both of us are the kind of people who get lots of work done and don�t procrastinate or have trouble with inspiration, etc., we both get locked in dark rooms and watch a hell of a lot of television, as a form of escape and therapy. He said, �I mean, sometimes you just have to stop thinking, sit down and watch So You Think You Can Dance!� I laughed wholeheartedly at that choice of possible things one might have to sit down and watch. But yes, sometimes you do.

Today got better after the whole Dr. Vise visit, but I never quite caught up with it. I got a bit of freelance work done on a blog site I edit and manage. I packed up some books and files to mail back to PA, to keep the weight of my luggage down. I met my friend Dave for tea. Dave and I had a fun time switching back and forth in our conversation between serious and funny. One minute we�d be dropping lines from Anchorman and Talladega Nights, the next minute we�d be discussing a series of books on witnessing injustice that he is involved in and for which I am joining the board of directors. �I�m in a glass box of emotion!� �Which board member would be best to invite to my conference on what law can and can�t do?� �We�re finishing up the Katrina book.� �Chill out, Karen!� �What should I do with my hands?� Hanging out with Dave is always fun, and always illuminating.

Then I had dinner with Richard. The company was great but the food not so good. We caught up on what we�ve been doing with our summers, and what�s up for the coming academic year. Then I suddenly became so very tired that I wasn�t making any sense. He found that entertaining, so at least I didn�t bore him to death.

Now I�m happy to be back at Beattymatt watching Project Runway with Caroleen and the various animals.

PS�I'm sad that the unicorn-riding carebear got booted off Project Runway! Why is the male subject of an Almodovar film (man-on-the-verge-of-a-nervous-breakdown) still there? Why?

9:56 p.m. - August 16, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me