is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parties and Closing Time.

Richard is in town, and he had a birthday party at Hermione's brightly colored apartment. Here you see an impressionistic rendering of Evany and Heidi talking on a loveseat.

Here's Natalie and I in the kitchen, with part of Jeff's nose and forehead.

A few days later, a bunch of us had cocktails at Bacar's Thursday night 1/2-off happy hour. Here's Sunny and I looking very serious. Nothing else about that evening was very serious, and that was good.

Later on I met Heidi at the yummy Algerian restaurant in Hayes Valley. Then we went to the Orbit Room for Mojitos and conversation.

Tonight I dined with Evany, Marco, Caroleen, Jeff, Richard and Liz. We ate a lot and drank some tasty sugary drinks, and then had dessert, too. It was fun to be out with everyone. We had planned to get drinks after dinner, but there wasn't much room left in anyone's stomach for such a thing. Still, when I ended up home by 10pm on my last real night in town, I felt old and lame and slightly depressed. I guess I'm 40? I mean, I didn't want more drinks, but I guess I wanted more time out on the town. Or a less divided life. Hard to say exactly what it is such a feeling wants. The last 1-3 days in either of my life-locations, prior to a switch to the other, is always hard. Perhaps "10 pm feeling" is just a way of preparing me for my return to my life in Pennsylvania, where I am without all the good friends and social life and companionship. Anyway we are all having brunch tomorrow morning.

Earlier this week, when I was talking to John Vanderslice as we walked around Dolores Park before settling down at a picnic table, he was asking me how I like the east coast. I said it was OK but that it was easier to be Jill in San Francisco. He knew what I meant right away. He said something like "yeah, people on the east coast put people in their boxy categories and leave them there, whereas in San Francisco people move across boundaries all the time and no one blinks an eye." I told him that is exactly why I love San Francisco.

So I'm feeling simultaneously blue about leaving and ready to be reunited with my own bed and Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI, whose campaign of urine destruction was, thankfully, shortlived), the rest of my clothes and shoes (um, that sounds superficial but I really do miss the rest of my clothes and shoes, OK?), and my worldly possessions. And, of course and more importantly, it will be good to see my New York friends soon, too. Also, I have so much freaking work to complete before the end of August that it is NOT EVEN FUNNY. But I've gotten a bunch done this summer, and I'm well prepared to crank out the stuff I need to produce in the next two weeks. It has been a good summer work-wise and fun-wise, and for that I feel thankful.

11:50 p.m. - August 19, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me