is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Sorry It Took So Long To Return Your Sock.

You miss Evany, don't you? You want to hear her voice. Well, now you can. For, like, 15 minutes or something. Go check out her podcast of a reading from The Secret Language of Sleep. Her book! Which you can buy!

As you know, I got some new luggage this summer. My two old non-matching suitcases both started busting through their zipper seams, and I had just gotten a paycheck from my new freelance-y job, so I just went and bought the shit out of a three-piece set of luggage I've been wanting forever. It's the Heys X-case, aka "the world's lightest luggage." It's a hardcase set made out of a polycarbonate and ABS blend. Here's more than you wanted to know: the Polycarbonate allows the shell to absorb impact by 'flexing' when under heavy stress, while the ABS (whatever that is!) gives the shell greater rigidity so that it will not permanently deform when under pressure but instead will pop back up into its original shape. I did a LOT of reading about luggage recently, btw. I LOVE MY NEW LUGGAGE. And, when I was checking luggage at the airport in Oakland on Monday, the check-in guy said, "hey! your luggage has rims!" I had not thought of it this way before, but my luggage does indeed have rims. The wheels are chrome-plated! (Or, as the website has it: The wheels have a large 85mm diameter for greater durability as well as 70mm chrome plated rims to protect the metallic ball bearings from the environment.) Anyway, as it turns out I am very glad I bought the luggage when I did because I seem to have gotten one of the last sets available in the electric-y teal-ish blue color I wanted. Never again will I own black or navy blue luggage that looks like everyone else's black or navy blue luggage! When my luggage arrives on the carousel, I will KNOW. And so will everyone else.

It took me a couple of days to realize that there was a grocery bag on my dining room table holding a bag of white chocolate chips, one socklet (rhymes with chocolate and refers to those socks that cover your foot only), and a note. The note said, "Jill, I'm sorry it took me so long to return your sock."... and was signed by one of my neighbors. I was all, WHAT? And then I remembered that this neighbor had once asked me, in the laundry room, whether I was missing a sock. I had just folded a load of laundry and so I declared that I was indeed missing a sock. It seems that my sock had somehow ended up in his load of laundry through some washer or dryer mishap. I think I told him just to leave it on the dryer the next time he walked down the hall. And then I forget all about it. Anyway, it strikes me as funny, the note, since I'm sure my subletter/student read that note, and wondered why he had my sock. You know. So that's funny.

Um. Nothing has happened here. Since I've been back I've been work-work-working. I haven't even gotten the car towed to the mechanic yet. (Tomorrow morning!) By next Thursday I have to have two papers written and two 20-minute conference presentation/speeches ready. Not to mention preparing the new class I'm teaching starting the following Tuesday? Argh/Gulp. Today I finished one of the papers. Then I read the paper on which one of my presentations is to be a commentary. Tomorrow I will begin to write that presentation. Over the weekend I will draft an argument about ethics in Levinas and Sartre. Then I'll work on the two presentations some more. And hopefully there will be time for some course planning as well. Wish you were here.

10:39 p.m. - August 24, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me