is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Duck. Bumm-bershooted.

Today I walked by the pond and saw the wood duck for the first time since May. I thought maybe he had disappeared because i hadn't seen him since I got back to Pennsy. I have spent many hours wondering happened to him, and trying to figure out whether there was any way to learn what happened to him. Is there a person at Quaker Bubble who is in charge of the pond and its wildlife? Would that person know? Etc.

But then today he was there again! At first I was very sad because he looks ragged and is missing all his cute pointy head plumage. His neck is naked and you can see his chicken-skin. Except that it is duck skin, of course. I thought maybe the other ducks pecked his feathers off, the way chickens do (Caroleen's big fat proud chicken likes to peck the necks and butts of the other two chickens constantly.) In general he just seems less well-groomed than before, like maybe he began to give up on life or he was ill. Then I was wondering who I could call to see whether the wood duck is ill. Many crazy theories and possible schemes drifted through my brain-sponge.

But then it seemed like it was also possible that the wood duck just loses those feathers every year in the summer, since some ducks lose their flying feathers during those months. And maybe he has decided to go grunge and fuck it, being a fop is too much work, you know?

And then, all of a sudden, I noticed that there was another small duck, all charcoal grey and not very distinctive at all, but definitely not one of the other ducks. A FEMALE WOOD DUCK. She was sitting there, demurely hiding her tiny beak beneath the feathers on her back (in that I'm-resting-my-head-on-my-own-back way peculiar to ducks and geese.) Let us rejoice, for the wood duck is not alone!

In other news, I am so bummed (bumbed) that instead of going to Bumbershoot, where I could see EVANY read again, in addition to watching ladies skate roller derby, not to mention BLONDIE, I am spending my Labor Day Weekend at the Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association.

At Bumbershoot they're even doing a dissection of R.Kelly's Trapped in the Closet. To me that sounds hilarious. There is nothing my over-worked brain would like better right now than to watch the shit out of THAT.

And my twisted, disturbed, disturbingly funny BF Zach Galifianakis will be there, too.

Oh, the APSA meeting will be fine. I'll see some friends there. I'll give my two papers. People will either love the papers or hate them. That will be fine. I'm just very very tired and I want to watch ladies skate roller derby. I would also like to watch Zach Galifianakis skate roller derby.


11:00 p.m. - August 30, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me