is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Off the Wall to Off the Couch.

Here�s one sign of how lethargic or �indolent� I�ve been of late. You know how I came home in August to a house full of ruined textiles because of Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI)�s reign (aka rain) of terror (aka urine) over my housesitter? Well, the couch cover got ruined, but luckily the couch was saved. Because couches are expensive and I can�t even afford to buy myself a new comforter. Anyway I lucked out, finding the exact same couch cover, which I love, on eBay for only $30 (it retails for $125 or something crizazy like that). But here�s the thing: I have not yet put the cover on the couch. If any of you can remember the state my couch was in prior to that covering being secured for it, you will be alarmed, nay frightened, to think that it is now October 4 (aka my DAD�S BIRTHDAY!), and I�ve been sitting on a ratty old ugly-ass uncovered couch for 1.5 months.

I have no excuses. Except maybe that putting a couch cover on is actually very work-intensive and involves lots of tucking and adjusting that I, first in my overworkiness and then in my quasi-woe followed by existential indolence, simply could not muster up the gusto to perform.

However.

On Tuesday I was supposed to drive to Doylestown with a friend to see Army of Shadows, a French noir gangsta film. I think you know how I love French noir gangsta films in general. But then my friend was sick so she cancelled. And I in my indolence could not even tell whether I was disappointed or relieved. I could have driven to Doylestown by myself, sure, but it�s a 30-40 minute drive and look! there�s a television in my house. So I didn�t go. The film is playing one more time in Ambler tomorrow night, so maybe I�ll check it out then. Maybe.

Anyway.

Since I was home on Tuesday night instead of in Doylestown PA, I actually: 1) put away all my books. There were many, many books scattered everywhere, so that labor actually took some time. Then I 2) picked up all the pieces of paper on the floor and put them in piles that made a certain amount of sense. This cleared some space, reminding me of how lovely my wood floors are. So then I 3) vacuumed the rugs and floor in the living room and kitchen. I thought I would also mop but then it was getting dark and it is better to mop in daylight (that might sound crazy but my house is not well-lit). I almost got to the point of putting the couch cover on but by then I was sweating and it was time for Veronica Mars so I sat myself down on the ugly-ass couch and called it a day.

Did I mention that part of the reason why I was sweating was because of the new Justin Timberlake CD? I know. I know it has gotten mixed reviews! And, let�s be brutal here, the first three (including �Sexy Back.� What. Ev.) and last two songs I could really live without. But that leaves SEVEN tasty hot songs for me to clean the house to. It turns out that the first album�s searing hot pop greatness was not a fluke. He can do it again. I am telling you he can!

When I clean the house or fold the laundry and listen to Justin Timberlake, I can�t help but reflect on how we came to this moment. Just how, HOW?, did Justin Timberlake of N*Sync end up a sexy grown-up man? I�m not sure. It�s not that he�s my type or anything. It�s that I recognize that he is what many will consider way-sexy. I mean, with the first album I was so happy that someone finally just up and did what everyone had been wanting Michael Jackson to do all these years instead of all the crazy stuff he�s been doing instead: make a hot deliciously good dancy pop album. But there�s a way in which this album is even hotter, and I�m not yet sure exactly why, since I�ve only listened to it four times.

Anyway, perhaps more will be said, but you�ll never find me writing long philosophical discourses on JT. Timbalake has at least helped push me off the couch a bit, and that�s all I expect of him. Today I did three loads of laundry, made black bean soup and guacamole, and dyed my hair. (Think of my hair, and you�ll realize that the hair-dying is actually complicated and a bit labor-intensive, and well worth putting off over and over again.) This weekend I am going to some art event Friday night and then there are BBQs both weekend-days. And even though right now what I�d really like to do this weekend is nothing but stay home, cook, work, and watch TV, I guess I�m going to do all those three things, since my astro-chart tells me that there are elegant must-attend events in my future.

Next week my friend Diane visits QB to be a guest lecturer in my class on Tuesday. Then on Wednesday she and my friend Gayle both give public talks here at QB that I set up for them. So I�ll have some entertaining and wining and dining to do this week, and I won�t even have to pay for it. Then on Thursday my students have the day off and Gayle, Diane and I are off to SPEP (Society for Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy)�yes it�s SPEP time again�here in Philly for three days. And then it�s my fall break. Usually my fall break would be spent in San Francisco. But, as I mentioned, I cannot even afford to buy a new comforter, let alone a comforting airflight back to SF. This semester I had to choose between my fall break and a short weekend trip to Dallas for a family event. And I guess I must be an ADULT because I chose Dallas. DALLAS. But my wonder-cousin Adam lives in Dallas!

In other news, recently one of my students (in my class about PAIN) was talking about how, culturally, if you can�t take pain very well you�re considered a weenie but if you take it too well you�re considered a pervert. So we decided that if I teach the class again it should be called �Special Topics in Continental Philosophy: Weenies and Perverts.�

12:20 a.m. - October 05, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me