is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meow's Your Thyroid, Purr-dner?

Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI) is home. He spent the night in a place that has a frieze of cats running all around the room. They are cowboy cats.

We still don't know whether Hans Blix is OK. His bloodwork all looks fine, but we're waiting to hear back about his thyroid. I'm thinking it's either his thyroid or his teeth. He has a lot of plaque and may need some dental work. Or he may have a thyroid problem. In any case, I hope that it is one of these things so he can be treated and get back to his crazed begging for food. Right now he's on an appetite stimulant and is back to eating. I feel guilty because tomorrow I am going to Dallas until Monday, for a family thing. I feel bad leaving him. I'd cancel my plans if they were only work-related. But I have people checking in on him every day, and I'm not gone for very long, so things should be fine.

In any case, I know he is VERY glad to be home, not only because the cowboy cats don't look very happy, and one can't really be happy when one is looking at them, except maybe in an ironic way�and Hans Blix is too sincere for that�but also because now he gets to snuggle in all his favorite places instead of being stuck in a strange place with all kinds of smelly howling kitties all around him. The vet wanted to keep him overnight again for more hydrating, but I'm leaving too early tomorrow for pick-up, so then she suggested that he stay there FOR THE WEEKEND. I thought that was crazy-talk and went and got my cat the hell out of there. There is no way that would have helped his health! Did you see those cowboy cats? Did I mention that they smell like cat urine!?

So instead he'll get visits from Marianne, Dorian, and Jessica. And then we'll learn about his thyroid.

11:27 p.m. - November 09, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me