is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Age of Vegiquarius.

Today I was in the most beautiful meat store. (That really could be the beginning of many very different stories.)

In the lovely meat store, not only were there all kinds of mysterious things like sausages and rolled up Italian meat things, all arrayed preternaturally neatly in vintage white and glass display cases, but there were also remnants of dead things everywhere. Everywhere! But not in a way that makes you shiver with the thought of dead things. There were skulls and antlers lining the tops of shelves, and a full bear rug with head, and various animal pelts hanging all around, and huge taxidermied elk heads and the like. It was fascinating. Chas and I, who were waiting for Chas� friend Peter to make some purchases, walked over to the pelts right away, and ogled them with furious glee. A few seconds later Chas looked at me and said, �my god, it�s a good thing there are 8 signs here telling us not to touch the pelts because I came over here to touch them!� I did too.

I�m not sure why the meat store was beautiful rather than disgusting or macabre (maybe it was actually a macabre kind of beautiful, come to think of it). It had in its favor also its outside-of-time feeling, or perhaps it is less outside-of-time than stuck-in-a-bygone-era. The butcher who runs the meat store does all the killing (of the smaller animals) and the chopping and grinding and making of sausages and pancettas and the like. (Chas, when making the common assertion that we don�t want to know how laws or sausages are made, added experimental music to the list, ha.). Our tour guide, Chas� friend, the one who was at the store buying things, asked the butcher whether he had the day off tomorrow or was cooking for his family. Butcher�s all, �You kidding! At home my wife does all the cooking. I�d be happy with a cheese sandwich.�

And so would I. A peaceful, non-murderous cheese sandwich. Because despite all I�ve said about the beautiful meat store, and despite the fact that I started eating fish a few years ago (so I�m now a vegiquarian instead of a vegetarian), I still wish I had not turned around just in time to see the butcher wrapping up the whole skinned rabbit that Chas and Peter are apparently having for dinner this evening. Eeeeaaarrrgh! They are putting that in their mouths! Gross!

PS�Bunnies are cute.

But I held my tongue. While looking at some cow tongues.

Then we went to a local restaurant saloon. Peter had an angus burger and Chas had (aka �joined�) the Duck Club. I had some very yummy macaroni and cheese with a side of leafy greens.

OK. Must attend to some house things, then get to sleep so I can make it to NYC for dinner tomorrow.

12:38 a.m. - November 23, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me