is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In Bed (CLOTHED!), plus: Cosmic Comedy.

Evany's book, which I know you already own, but which you also want to buy more copies of, because it is an awe-inspiring package of funny and insightful, and because it makes the perfect holiday gift, is now available at Urban Outfitters and Anthropologie. So you don't even have to go frequent a quirky little bookstore to see drawings of me as a girl and as a boy, in bed with other girls.

Um, in case you don't have the book, allow me to clarify that in these drawings I am SLEEPING. In PAJAMAS. The book is about SLEEPING positions, OK?

For instance, that's me as a dude, in the drawing of "paperdolls." And yes, you're right, I look better as a girl. I would have it no other way. Thing is, Evany's idea for the book was, since there are like 40 poses, that the drawings would be 20-girl/boy 10-girl/girl 10-boy/boy. Seems fair, right? Apparently it only seems that way if you're FROM SAN FRANCISCO. The rest of the world isn't quite ready for that ratio. So some of my appearances in bed with Heidi were transformed into short-guy-with-tall-girl. Guess what? All that means is that I'm still totally FROM SAN FRANCISCO. You want me to be Don Henley to your Stevie Nicks? I can totally do it. I will take from you your lace on condition that you accept my leather, OK? I am nothing if not brimming with can-do attitude.

Speaking of can-do, I was recently cast in the role of myself in a cosmic comedy. You see, I have this problem, whereby I sometimes refuse to delegate work to others because I don't want to get mad at others if they mess up the work. So last week I delegated something that seemed pretty straightforward, and also I delivered it with painstaking instructions phrased two different ways and then summarized. And yet the thing still went wrong. Letters were sent out to participants in a conference I'm organizing and, in at least two cases (that I've heard about so far), people got their own first page and someone else's second page of a letter. I mean, I wrote every letter individually ON PURPOSE, because I've had conversations with each participant and their circumstances all vary. So there's a way in which one of my least attractive qualities has just been REINFORCED. Oh well. Oh well. Oh well.

11:29 p.m. - December 06, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me