is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ROCK IT.

So I�m having a party here in QuakerBubble on Saturday, and I�ve sent out an invitation asking people to arrive ready to reenact the party scene from Breakfast at Tiffany�s (a fairly constant obsession of mine, party-wise). I was talking to Gus on the phone last night, saying I wasn�t sure what to wear, because though I do have countless fabulous gowns (it�s criminal, maybe, the number of things I own that could actually be called �gowns�), the two that I most want to wear may be a Bit Too Much for QB. (I discussed this with Evany today, and she knows me and my gowns, and she said: �Never too much, especially when you don�t have to travel anywhere to get to the party!�) Ah, Evany. She is so often RIGHT. This is no exception. However, she may not understand exactly how unlike San Francisco QB is. Anyway, Gus wasn�t quite seeing my point, which must have been my fault, or it was because he's a guy, so I said, �well, when you wear an amazing gown you have to be ready to ROCK it.� He was all, �?� [silencio. shhhhh!] ... It just means that there are some pieces of clothing that are truly wonderful but that take effort to wear. They draw attention to themselves and therefore to you, and so if you are wearing them you damn well better be ready for what it means. You must ROCK that gown, my friend. You must wear it, or it will wear you, and badly.

Like I said, I was talking to Evany today and telling this story about omg-what-will-I-wear and so she told the story about a jacket that Marco recently bought which apparently is fabulous. But when he was about to buy it, he asked E: �Is this jacket like �Hello, your youth called and it wants its jacket back?�� which just reminds us all that Marco is hilarious and a truly special human life form, but also underscores my point. Because Evany�s response was: �No. But when you wear it you have to ROCK IT.�

Of course, another aspect of ROCKING something is not talking it to death, but just DOING it. Enough said.

12:26 a.m. - December 14, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me