is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

longest. day. ever.

yesterday I woke up at 3am phillytime to get ready for my 3:45am cab pickup. I dodgeballed my distress at this clock-alarming development only to have heidi dodgeball back that she was currently on her way home from a bar. it was midnight in san francisco.

3am is a time I should only see when I haven't yet gone to bed.

at the airport I encountered a preternaturally long line. I had to check luggage because I had two suitcases. (it's hard to pack for a month in san francisco that will be punctuated with three job interviews in DC, plus holiday events, and don't forget the weight and bulk of the books and research materials I need for that "book" I'm "writing.")

the line was long, and 2/3 of the people in it had HUGE suitcases that were 20 to 30 pounds overweight. most of them didn't speak english and no one was happy.

but I was! crazy to say it, but I've been euphoric for days, no matter what the obstacle. in fact right now I'm sitting at Big O Tires, waiting for a new battery to be installed in li'l Tracker after waiting for AAA to come jump me (iykwim). someone at Big O is currently driving somewhere else to get the correct battery, even though on the phone they assured me they had it in stock. plus I have a serious sinus headache. and yet I am so very happy.

yesterday too, even though it was so very endlessly LONG. I had arranged for my dad to leave work early after I took BART to his office, but when I got there, having already been awake for 13 hours, he couldn't leave due to having "work" to do. outrageous! (ha.) so I took BART to the mission to get a saucy burrito at puerto allegre but they were closed, some bullshit about holiday vacations, so I went to pork store and had a delicious omelette with biscuit and potatoes. then I walked blindly around looking at things, candy store and both therapy stores, plus otsu, etc., ending up at aardvark books. took MUNI back to dad's office, waited a bit. then we drove back to vallejo, waited for anne to get home, went out for a yummy dinner. later, when it came time for me to drive to benicia, li'l Tracker wouldn't start, so we had to do some jumping. Got to benicia, watched mom decorate tree, stood on chair to place angel at top. Finally went to bed at 10, having been awake for 22 hours. slept for a delicious 11 hours. woke up, made evany's xmas gift, and so on.

today: new battery for car, then must drive to SF to get keys from roderick, then do some work, then have dinner and movies in oakland with EVANY THOMAS, whom I can't wait to see with my eyeballs!

posted by sidekick

2:13 p.m. - December 21, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me