is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pressed up against your back

Night before last, I woke up with the sense that a large living body was pressed up against my back, and an arm was draped over me. For some reason that wasn't alarming. Then I realized it was Huxley the dog. And Phil the cat was on my other side, and I thought that was all very cute, until an hour later when I awoke to them fighting. But I really like Huxley the dog, and Phil the cat. And in general I like sleeping with something pressed up against my back. Last night Huxley and I hung out with Sunny, Leisa, Cash, and the dogs Stella and Paco.

We talked about dogs running away, and the hilarious time Sunny had to go running off down the beach yelling �Stella� really loudly in a wifebeater tanktop.

Today Huxley and I went back to Fort Funston and met a lot of dogs. Man, if I had a dog like Huxley, I could probably find myself like 18 husbands. Everyone wants to talk to a girl alone on a beach with a cute dog.

I didn't say that these husbands of mine would be very cute, or very much my type.

Last night Sunny and Leisa were trying to convince me that I need to have my own dog� that I look good �with dog.� I think they just want me to be a lesbian. Ha. The main problem is that dogs are so much work. I�d housesit Huxley any time, and love doing it, but that�s like babysitting. At some point you get to go back home, to your CAT, who doesn�t drool on you or jump up on you or need you to attend closely to his peeing and pooping habits. And also, I just couldn�t live a life where all my clothes had to be the kind of clothes that it would be OK for a dog to slobber on, you know? I�m not sure I could get used to that. Call me vain if you wish. I like to have clean clothes.

Another great thing about this housesit: THE SHOWER. OMG. Adam and Julia have the best showerhead ever.

I just found it on Amazon.com and realized that it is only $28. Maybe I NEED to have it for myself? Maybe next month.

Last night Sunny played for me Doug�s cover recording of Peaches� HOTROD. Wow. It was creepily excellent. Of course the best part is the beginning: �You like it when I like you less/ No caress /Just undress /You like it when we play hardcore /The panty-war /You get pussy galore.� Hahaha. Especially Doug�s whispery voice saying �pussy galore.� He somehow seemed to add extra syllables to it? I was torn between laughing, dancing, and running away. Very. Good. But I guess maybe that�s how Peaches affects me in general. In a good way.

Yesterday afternoon I watched Miyazaki�s Howl�s Moving Castle. You know how much I love Spirited Away, starring my boyfriend who is a cute boy who is sometimes a formidable dragon and also secretly the river who saved me as a child. Well, Howl ripped my heart out and in half a little too. Like when Sophie asks Howl what the battleships are doing even in the dreamy flower-field portal he opens up for her, and then asks whether they are �ours� or �theirs� and he says, �who cares, they are all murderers.� It�s about wanting to resist war but then finding that pacifism sometimes too comfortably leaves others to die. And it�s also about romantic love rather than Spirited Away�s brother/sister family-recuperating love. And this time it�s about Sophie saving Howl instead of Haku saving Sen. But I suppose in both stories it�s actually about each saving the other, and doing so because each knows the other better than anyone else, and perhaps better than the other knows his or her self. And I guess that�s why I�m a sucker for both stories. That and the fascinating universe into which you can disappear for two or three hours while falling in love with a good story. It�s like something pressed up against your back that fills you with the kind of happiness that also fears loss, like: it might end. You know, human happiness.

4:32 p.m. - January 08, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me