is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time, Money, Discipline.

Wow. All of a sudden time is passing with a deadly swiftness. And yet also slowly. I�ve had to cut my trip to SF short by a couple of days in order to get back to NYC for a second interview with a school there (I got this news only 30 minutes after a disappointing rejection email confirming that I would not be getting a second interview at another school). So now I�m trying to fit in a bunch of activities at the last minute, as I always do, but the minute suddenly got shorter.

It�s all further complicated by the fact that the Cutest Boy Ever is coming VISIT me in SF for the weekend. But that is a lovely complication, and is the only reason why time still passes slowly because HE�S NOT HERE YET.

Today I had lunch with my dad, and we talked about politics and family stuff, and funny things, and funny politics and family things. I disciplined myself to have grilled salmon on a salad with a glass of water instead of grilled cheese, fries, and a pepsi, even though I was in a DINER. Ah, aging.

Then I went off to get some errands done and ended up shopping? I bought some Flying Fox bodywash at LUSH (after smelling it in Julia�s shower I fell in love and had to get my own. it�s nice that some kinds of love can be bought with money, I guess). Then I went to Macy�s to buy a bra, but of course I couldn�t find one in my size, and I�ll spare you the usual diatribe about that, since that one has been done by me to death, and by putting off writing about it until next time, I can save Gene�s eyes from burning this time.

However I did buy some cute underwear. It is just so hard to resist, you know? (I�m talking about resisting BUYING it, OK? Gene, your eyes are NOT BURNING.)

I had to discipline myself with the sternest of self-cruelties by saying �no� to the most perfectest ever BCBG skirt and a very lovely Betsey Johnson dress today, because even though both were deeply discounted, both were still outside my current pricerange (ha, as if I even HAVE a pricerange right now). It hurt. In my mind I�m still scheming ways in which I can somehow magically afford that skirt. But it�s OK because I�m going to buy a HOTEL ROOM instead so that my weekend with CBE will be like a vacation, much deserved by both of us.

When I walked into Betsey Johnson I had forgotten that I was wearing an old BJ dress that my mom had bought me years ago on one of our birthday shopping sprees. However I was reminded of this with force as soon as I walked in. Shopgirl 1 yelled �OH MY GOD I remember that dress it was my favorite that year!� and Shopgirl 2 yelled, �THAT IS SUCH A CLASSIC CUT I can�t believe how good it looks how did you keep it in such good shape.� Later on Shopgirl 2 came up behind me and said, �That really is a great dress. I think it�s like 2000, right?� (That means that it was from the spring 2000 line, not that it cost 2000 dollars or something.) I�m not sure that it�s actually cool to be wearing a 2000 dress if you�re a Betsey Johnson girl, but I�m not one and thus I am FREE.

Then I all of a sudden, all dolled up in the Betsey Johnson dressing room, in the cutest dress I was considering buying, but then thinking, well, maybe if I do spend any money it should be on that skirt, but, hell, I shouldn�t spend any money, WHAT SHOULD I DO?, I realized that it was 3:40 and I was supposed to meet Dave Eggers at 4pm in the Mission! I got back into my own clothes and blazed on out of there.

I had amazing transit luck and got there on time. We went and ate Thai food and talked for about two hours, about all kinds of things, like we always do. Then we went back to McSweeney�s headquarters and he gave me some free products. I ran into Brent (editor of Wholphin) there, and made a date to have coffee with him tomorrow.

In other news, Richard sent me this cute email after I wrote about how good he and I were at having parties:

�RE: last diary entry. i went to a party on nye, and i realized that one of the few things i can do, the way that people who are trained in certain things, the way that a graphic designer can �do� a business card from illustrator layout to print, is have parties. i realized this when i got to the party and: the carpet wasn't rolled up and put away. the crisper wasn't filled with beer. there was no spillage recovery plan in the living room. etc. i learned that from you. thanks.�

so, in addition to the Learning Annex class Evany thinks I should offer called, �How To Walk In Heels,� I�m developing a course called, �Yes, You Can Throw A Successful Party.�

6:56 p.m. - January 09, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me