is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thrill.

Tired. So very tired. I don't deserve the name "Thrill." There are many things I'd like to write right now. But the things I have to write right now (as opposed to the things I want to write right now) are the things I don't want to write right now. (So I suppose it is somehow fitting that I have to write about Foucault's dismal ideas about discipline, since they're all about being disciplined by forces that aren't even entirely imposed from outside. And that is my fate. Right now.)

But do you want to see something that has cheered me up many times in the past few days? Sure you do! So click here.

So, is this ironic? Not only do I have to write (right now) about Foucault and discipline, but I have to do so for a job interview which is stressing me out and making me fly for a very long time to get there. (It will be OK. It will be OK.) And I have to write this stuff in order to teach it in a class. Which is a form of administering discipline, spreading its effects, to others. And I'll be doing this, as I mentioned, in the middle of a job interview, as part of my job interview, so while I'm administering the effects of discipline I myself will be BEING disciplined.

And yet none of that is what I get to say when I do my "teaching demonstration."

Oh, if only I were sleeping right now.

But do you know what else makes me happy? When my friend Chas (who went to the beautiful meat store with me, you remember), fifteen years later, always still refers to me as Thrill rather than Jill, even in the mail. I don't feel very thrilling right now. But there you have it.

Chas is one of the funniest people I know, and also one of the best story tellers, and he has this great voice to which you just want to keep listening. Plus he and I have each pulled some pretty great pranks in our day. But that's another story.

Also, my sister started a blog where you can see how she once abused her authority and turned Pinkemily Oneword Duckinson into a CAKE.

The second best thing that happened to me today is that I got to put a Pink Peppercorn Star Anise Truffle from Recchiuti in my mouth. Oh, the wonder of it all, that it actually does make things better. I once had an extended fantasy about meeting a Sugar Daddy (um, literally, I guess) who would be large enough with the cash to enroll me in the 12-month Recchiuti chocolate club, so that wondrous confections would just arrive at my door all the time. But I shouldn't complain. Natalie sent me the Oeuf de Paques last year. Leah once sent me a Green Box and six brownies. People are good to me.

And, man, have you had the Recchiuti hot chocolate yet? They were handing out free samples the day that I stopped by the store in the SF Ferry Building to buy the Star Anise Pink Peppercorn Truffles (along with a couple of Rose Caramels, Fleur de Sel Caramels, Cinnamon Malt Truffles, and a Bergamot Tea Truffle), and when I put it in my mouth, it made my knees buckle a little. The next time I am nice to myself (with cash) I'm going to get me some of those pistoles! And if you are in San Francisco, you should go get some for yourself!


10:07 p.m. - January 24, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me