is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

aging.

apparently the northern lights don't happen all the time. in fact, while I was here I kept mentioning them, and thus learned that many people who have lived here for a long time have never seen them. so I guess it isn't a magical place where beautiful atmospheric effects offer a constant backdrop to the immense flat space of northern alberta's prairie. but still. aurora borealis!

the interview went well. it's strange to think I might get this job. it never occurred to me that I might be a top candidate for this particular position, even though of course I was in a top 3 list because they only invited 3 for interviews. my reasons for being surprised are complicated but are realistic rather than crazy.

it was a strange and tiring couple of days with ups and downs. the students and faculty are all smart and nice. I'm ready to sleep for three days.

re: the bad news I mentioned awhile ago, there has been some respite or improvement. human health and vitality is unpredictable.

on that note, I just learned this morning that a good friend of mine has a fatal blood disease. I haven't yet been able to get answers to what precisely "fatal" means. he's younger than I am! anyway, turns out the diagnosis explains all kinds of other problems he's had for years, much like my diagnosis with barlow's syndrome explained all kinds of strange health issues I had. except that in my case all I have is a series of related birth defects that are fairly common ("fairly common... is that so?...," says my inner foucault, "and so why are they called birth DEFECTS?") and most often not life-threatening. "fatal blood disease" sounds bad. aging is hard.

speaking of aging, I'm going to go blogging for dollars again soon, so get ready to read about my obsession with moisturizer in coming days. (remember the "holy shouch!" epilator episode?)

richard emailed me all the addresses of the belgian chocolatier callebaut here in edmonton, and I found someone to take me there. yesterday I had a ginger-cinnamon truffle and, while it was in my mouth I thought it was fine but not remarkable. but then I revised my assessment because it lingered in the most amazing way, radiating from hot ginger to spicy intense cinnamon laced with subtle dark chocolate, all over my mouth (on the inside of my mouth, that is) for like FIVE MINUTES. man, that was good.

you know what is not good? sitting in the airport in edmonton at 5am knowing you won't be back in philly until 6pm.

posted by sidekick II

5:47 a.m. - January 31, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me