is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a good melody.

music and lyrics was not so good. I mean, it made us laugh, and even had a number of good, intelligent funny jokes and situations, but ultimately the chemistry between hugh grant and drew barrymore wasn't all that compelling, nor were the purposefully flawed characters of either actor. however, the main song which they wrote together (written by adam schlesinger) does have, as you might expect, a preternaturally lovely refrain. I sang it for evany a number of times yesterday afternoon, walking home from the theatre, and then sitting on the couch watching some hilarious episodes of Scrubs. That show! (cut to evany and I happily singing along with the theme song: "I can't do this all by myself, no I know / I'm no superman.")

there is something about a really good melody, pop-style. the first time grant and barrymore finally sang the refrain to the song-being-written-within-the-movie instead of the less interesting verse section, it was like a weight was lifted collectively off the shoulders of the audience and everyone smiled despite themselves (thereby illustrating the point made by the hugh grant washed-up 80s-star character that the beatles have made more people happy than jane austen or t.s. eliot. I'm not sure I agree though I take his point.).

note of correction to yesterday's entry: adam didn't write all the songs to music and lyrics. he wrote a number of them. and there were also FoW songs playing in the background of a few scenes.

later on yesterday, I had the best meal ever. judith butler took me out to congratulate me on getting a job. apparently, in her view, I worked really hard and learned the fields and didn't compromise and ended up with the philosophy job most people (not her!) doubted I could get. that's never how it all seemed to me. I have a tremendous power (or affliction) for disengagement from the practical realities of terrible "political" job situations. so what seems from the outside to be me struggling against all odds is just me continuing to live, and doing what seems best at any given moment. anyway, I had some potato-fennel puree soup with truffle oil, coriander-encrusted seared ahi tuna over fingerling potatoes and caramelized fennel, a glass of billecart-salmon champagne, and the most amazing dessert ever: chocolate croissant bread pudding. Man. I ate it until I was on the verge of sickness, it was so good. plus I have a job!

this morning marco and pigstar drove me to the airport at 5:30 am. it sucks to get up that early but at least i'll be in philly by 3:30p.

posted by sidekick II

7:11 a.m. - February 19, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me