is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fist Names. Movies and Weather.

Yesterday as Gus and I were walking around Philadelphia, Gene was IMing me about fist names. So of course at one point I made some sort of fist name joke to Gus, and he said, �wait, what is that from?� so I reminded him of 30 Rock�s Irish fist fight (which I wrote about a couple of days ago) culminating in the fistnames �Bono� and �Sandra Day O�Connor.� We then tried to top that. I started by insisting that the names wouldn�t have to be Irish names, or even person-names, so I raised my dukes and threatened Gus with my �hammer� and �sickle.� This was followed by some mean gesticulating from �tom� and �jerry,� and �ben� and �jerry,� but then Gus totally claimed victory over me with �simon� and �garfunkel.� That�s right. My bridge was over some TROUBLED WATER. I countered with �Gloria Estefan� and �Miami Sound Machine� not to mention �Elton John� and Kiki Dee,� but, really, what tops Simon and Garfunkel? Meanwhile, at work Gene and his compatriots were stuck on �Tony Orlando� and �Dawn,� which is pretty great. Gene also suggested �Grandmaster Flash� and �the Furious Five,� which gets extra points for the finger count. I dare you to shame us all with your own suggestions.

On Wednesday the weather here was 70 degrees at just the right level of humidity, where you are aware of your arms and legs in the best of ways because of the perfect light breeze stirring around you. Gus, Raji, Israel and I walked around Philly and went to see The Lives of Others, which we followed up with a yummy dinner with drinks at The Continental, and then another drink.

On Thursday the weather was rainy but not very cold, so it was still fun when Gus and I were walking around Philly again, eating things, looking at things, talking about things, making up fist names, and then seeing Volver.

Today?! Ice Storm. Not the movie, the weather. It is TERRIBLE to have to go outside. So we avoided doing that for more than the first half of the day, but then there was no more putting it off. Things had to be done. Food procured, work attended to. But outside, there are ice chips pouring from the sky and piling up on the ground, in inches. Apparently no flights have arrived or departed from any of the east coast airports. It is YUCKY. And yet I�m still going out fairly soon for a drink or two with Josiah, my old acquaintance turned new acquaintance from the airplane. Did I mention there is ice pouring from the sky? Ouch.

6:59 p.m. - March 16, 2007
- 2007-03-16 20:30:17
michael jackson and bubbles.
-------------------------------
- 2007-03-16 22:21:09
eat some now and save some for later.
-------------------------------
Lorna - 2007-03-17 01:14:17
I doubt very strongly that you went to the Continental, because "yummy" is not the word to describe it. Perhaps you meant "overpriced"? Or "filled with people who wish they could leave but can't because someone at the table really likes it"? Wait, these could also describe Pod. Wait, isn't that also a Stephen Starr joint?
-------------------------------
jill - 2007-03-17 09:36:14
it's a tricky thing to try to argue over what "yummy" is or means. however, whenever you're at a table full of people happy to be somewhere together, it's fun.
-------------------------------
Lorna - 2007-03-17 21:32:25
Oh, agreed. People who are happy to be together could sit around a melted rubber fondue and have fun.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me