is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alison Young Sighting!

Right now I'm in DC at a conference of the Association for the Study of Law, Culture and the Humanities. I love this group of people. They are fun, and smart, and always walking the margins of interesting fields, ready to cross-pollinate with some ideas. And they like to drink booze.

Last night I drank a great deal of booze with Alison Young, whom you probably remember was my friend when we both spent a year at Amherst. She and her partner Peter and their charming daughter Sophie formed a huge rock of fun and comfort in my social life there, imperiled as that social life was by my being-in-Amherstness. When they went back to Australia I felt sad that Sophie wouldn't really remember me, being only in the range of the ages 2 and 3 at the time. But apparently she does remember me, as Jill-who-baked-my-birthday-cake, and she remembers Hans-Blix-the-cat-who-scratched-me. (She tried to pick him up by his belly. The belly of Blix must not be touched!)

Anyway, last night Alison and I and a host of other LCH-ites (including the always-lovely Sara Kendall) ate at the spendy restaurant in the fancy hotel I'm staying in. (I'm broke. I got a great rate at this hotel because it is a sister hotel to the hotel where my dear friend Sunny is a concierge.) I love this hotel. It has a huge bathtub and a separate marble-walled shower, and comfy comfy beds with zebra print fluffy robes and all the right details to make a hotel room someplace you really don't want to leave. I wish I were staying longer, but I've got to get back to Philly tonight so I can see some cute-boy-ness and then accomplish some working tomorrow, since I'm hosting a Symposium next week in addition to the rest of my job-doing-needs.

And Alison is coming to the Symposium, too! Yay. It is so good to have her here for awhile, since apparently Australia is Very Far Away.

OK. That's all for now. Time to go to a panel and watch some people talk talk talk.

1:38 p.m. - March 24, 2007
RZ - 2007-03-24 14:59:56
Manatees!
-------------------------------
jill - 2007-03-25 21:44:54
yes. law, culture, and the manatees.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me