is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes from the Paisley Underground.

Caroleen was telling me about an exxxxxcellent prank she and her coworkers are pulling on a coworker who is out of town. It is fairly complex (and HILARIOUS); it begins with breaking and entering and ends with a stuffed bear sewn into the stomach of a stuffed snake. Anyway, it reminded me of how Marilyn once stole a funny mod-doll from my funny mod-boyfriend (we were very very young at the time) (and we used to steal things all the time. like street signs and stupid license plate holders, and any number of pointless things...). We started calling the doll Michael Quercio because it looked like the tiny lead singer to that 80s band The Three O'Clock. Those guys all used to hang out at the espresso/gelato place in Walnut Creek where Marilyn worked and where all the disaffected punk and mod and skater types (including a teenaged me) hung out. Michael Quercio (the person not the doll) was cute and sweet and spoke with an affected British accent.

Marilyn took Michael Quercio (the doll not the person) all over the world and photographed him with famous sites like Stonehenge and Old Faithful and, for YEARS, anonymously mailed the photos back to the funny-cute mod boy I once dated very briefly. I love a person who can sustain a prank like that. That just was the kind of boundless non-teleological (by which I mean: having no goal!) energy we had in our mis-spent youth. Remember: having no goal is not always a bad thing!

Remembering that story made me search for and locate on You Tube this funny snippet from that 80s music show MV3 featuring The Three O'Clock singing "Cantaloupe Girlfriend."

So I sent the URL to Marilyn thinking she would laugh her head off at something so forgotten. And then she immediately fired back with a photo of the Michael Quercio doll TALKING TO ME. Just remember, boys. You can never top Marilyn.

Her other response: "Man, 80s music was so all-over-the-place!" Word to your mommy.

I just now had a flash of funny intensely detailed memory of a moment backstage at some venue in SF with Michael Quercio wearing a lot of dark eyeliner saying something slightly seductive to me in a British accent. I was never sure whether he was straight or gay. So of course I liked him, or the fact of that uncertainty he embodied. Oh, the 80s.

3:36 p.m. - April 15, 2007
Martine - 2007-04-15 17:25:13
Thank you for linking to that Three O'Clock video. It made me wistful for those days when I could find deals at New Government and go to Whaaam magazine sponsored mod shows in SF...
-------------------------------
jill - 2007-04-16 11:40:32
ha! and thank YOU for that additional walk down memory lane. Whaaam!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me