is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

banks, trains, and rock.

this morning I woke up at 7:30 because I had to figure out how to get $5000 worth of cashiers checks, today, when my only bank account is located in california. I rolled out of bed, checked the sidekick, and already chris was instant messaging me about tonight (FoW are rocking Philly tonight). I thought to myself, "what the hell is he doing awake right now?" I mean, he is at the top of the list labeled "most likely to call jill at 3 in the morning," in part because he knows I'm on the list of "likely to be awake at 3am."

chris: what
jill: hey
jill: I am planning on seeing you rock tonight
chris: coward
jill: but I'm coming alone
chris: why the hell are you awake
jill: I have to take the train to nyc to sign a lease today
jill: why are YOU awake?
chris: where nyc place
jill: prospect heights
chris: where the fuck is that
jill: brooklandia
jill: nr park slope
chris: yuppie
jill: ha!
jill: park slope is like me with a baby stroller
jill: prospect heights is like me with young hipsters and latina grandmas

anyway, last night I called the bank across the street from my house and the so-called head banker there assured me I could get two cashiers checks today if I opened an account. this morning the story was different. so I went to the post office and signed up for five money orders (money orders must be $1000 or less) but my debit card was refused. so I called wells fargo and, after much painstaking explanation of my situation, they increased my cash advance allowance temporarily, and advised that I go to a local bank and get cash. I went to a second bank (now that wachovia officially sucks and deceives) and they said they would only give me $250 because I am not a customer. I politely asked them what I might do to get either the cash or the checks. the teller suggested I "go to my bank." (um, I had already told her my bank was in california?) the manager walked over, asked what the situation was, and then said, "why not just give her the money?" ha. the teller insisted it was against the rules. the manager looked exasperated. I went back to the post office and asked them to try again. they didn't mind because they love me. post officers always love me, because I send a lot of packages and always have the right forms filled out. anyway, it worked. now I'm on train #1 of 4 to get to brooklyn, hand over the cash, measure the apartment, then turn around, take 4 trains, and go rock at the troc(adero). loooong day.

I could have driven my car but I need to get my class prep for tomorrow done, plus I love the earth.

one other thing: on saturday wendy and I went to a rooftop bbq in williamsburg for david strauss' birthday. he was sharing the party with a 28-year old with the same birth date, so the party was like a strokes convention, full of impossibly cute guys with aggressively fashionable hair. (marian: "ugh. never date anyone with more complicated hair than you have." me: "I once had a great short-lived affair with a 27-year old with complicated and fashionable sideburns. no regrets.") at one point wendy and I were seated on a tuffet, and there was a lull in various conversations, such that we heard this line float in from across the way: "...and she all of a sudden realized it was a prosthetic penis under there!" I looked at wendy with glee. wendy looked at me with the look of wonder only wendy can muster. then we each ate a chocolate covered cherry that had been fashioned to look like a mouse. then we talked to an irascible rock critic who tried to have an argument with me about the new FoW album even after I said I agreed with him.

now I'm on train #2. time to get to work.

posted by sidekick 2.

12:00 p.m. - April 25, 2007
meow - 2007-04-26 12:29:15
phew. It was soo puh-tiring and stressful just reading about all that bank bs. glad it all finally worked out for you and also congrats on getting your new puhpartment! love u
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me