is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

H.B. (TCNTUNWI)

I'm sorry to give you bad news in this format, but yesterday Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. Weapons Inspector) passed away. After a valiant and longstanding struggle with thyroid and liver disease, he took a turn for the worse and we were left without options for treating him further. You'll be happy to hear, perhaps, that he went out Blix-style, having bit the vet and scared the two veterinary attendants, even with fluid in his lungs and a lot of bodily discomfort. He was nice to me, however, and I stayed with him to the end. Now the house feels empty, and his quirky feline ghost seems to be everywhere. I keep thinking I hear his studded collar clinking on his food dish, or him scratching the persian rug when I'm not looking. But he's gone. I'll miss him. I'm grateful for the five years we had together.

You'll remember that he and I did not always agree, that he had an overactive thyroid, that he was an existentialist, and photogenic, that there was a method to his madness, and that he was a headbanger, and sometimes caught fire. He was one of a kind, for better and for worse, just like all my favorite cats and people.

1:58 p.m. - May 03, 2007
Angielala - 2007-05-03 17:52:34
I'm really sorry to hear about HB. I lost my beloved chow-chow, Mongo (yes, after the guy in Blazing Saddles) a couple of years ago with almost no notice. I knew he was slowing down, but I came home one night to him not moving, not responding, laying in a corner, and he'd been fine that morning. I took him to the vet, who wanted to run a battery of tests, and I decided I couldn't put my dog through the stress. I chose to give him peace, and I stayed with him till the end, and while I miss him terribly, I don't regret it. You have my sympathy, and at least it happened before you moved. It would have been harder, if it had happened in a new home. Now you can have a fresh place where you're not used to him being. Take care...
-------------------------------
evany - 2007-05-03 22:04:59
Rest in peace, you fluffy, fluffy biter of hands and wearer of manly eye make up. You will be missed!
-------------------------------
Lisa - 2007-05-04 09:24:53
I'm so sorry, Jill. Take care of yourself.
-------------------------------
John - 2007-05-04 10:20:35
I'm so sad, Jill. Another lost icon. I'm looking at our cats, thinking about how sad the world will be without them. Best thoughts to you and Hans' ascending soul!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me