is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seeking Explanations.

A funny thing about my SF friends is that, when I asked if anyone wanted to go see the Brazilian band Os Mutantes with me for free at Stern Grove today, I got lots of emails back asking why I'd want to do that or wanting explanations--it's not that my friends are against Brazilian music but that they needed more information. However, when I wrote later and said that in addition to or possibly instead of doing that, I'd be going to Malibu Grand Prix to race go-carts with Heidi, no one asked me why I'd do that (even though I myself am far from certain of the answer!), and some of them joined up with us right away. So, though I seemingly have to explain why it would be a good thing to see Brazilian versions of Beatles songs (blame it on the bossa nova, etc.--a no brainer!), apparently it is totally normal for me to go hang out with a bunch of teens, tweens, and families on a Sunday morning at a theme park. Ha. I will race go carts. I may play miniature golf. But you will NOT find me in the batting cages.

My friend Barbara put up a little thing on gigglesugar about how I used to use the Pizza-Bagel commercial to teach syllogisms to students of argumentation. My favorite part is that she included a YouTube link to the terrible commercial that inspired my lesson, so I got to hear the song I used to sing to my students, a terrible terrible song that has never left my brain, unfortunately. The song still totally totally sucks, as in it sucks the brain matter right out of your head through your eyeballs as you look at it happening on screen with your ears.

Also, there is a cute little video on Brooklyn Vegan of Tegan and Sara trying to name their new album. It starts out badly but gets better. Natalie and I are going to see them on July 23!

Now, for most of my time listening to Tegan and Sara, I have felt confused about why I was doing so. I sometimes suspect that instead of being twin female Canadians, they are actually twin female hamsters, such is the way of their vocalization at times. But I do like their close harmonies and how similar but still different their two voices sound. Plus I don't think I could have gotten through my recent move without the accompaniment of their album "So Jealous." But I also have this snobbish reaction to them, like maybe I shouldn't like them, because they are too poppy or fluffy? Then when I think about that unthought thought of mine, I can't really justify it, because though they may be poppy, they aren't all that fluffy. The songs are interesting musically and also have emotional depth and, also, I have to admit that many of them hit me as just-right in that "yes, you have caught a truth" kind of way. I especially like "I know I know I know" and "Where does the good go?" and also "Downtown." And I like parts of "I Bet it Stung." But again, I'm not always sure why I like any of these songs. Though sometimes I am.

It's interesting how you can see just about ANYTHING you're curious about on YouTube... like acoustic or recorded versions of all the songs I've just mentioned.

It may be the Fountains of Wayne phenomenon, the one that dictates that lots of indie types can't like FoW because they are too poppy? But, well, I'm not really an indie-type anymore, I listen to the Backstreet Boys without shame, and, no, it can't be that because the bands are too dissimilar. Perhaps I'll think more about it. Or perhaps I won't. It could be that some things do not need to be thought. (I'll have to think about that.)

10:23 a.m. - July 15, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me