is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dreck and Treasure and the Many Ways to View a Movie.

My computer told me (yes, it really did tell me this) that I need to clear out old files. So I found some old photos while weeding out that enormous folder of dreck and treasure. There are many worth revisiting but the photo-uploading system on Diaryland is too cumbersome for me to deal with, so, well, remember when I looked like this?

And this? (You might remember, here I am dressed as the cake from Sixteen Candles for one of Bill's themed birthday parties. There I am, with Caroline and Wendy, Wendy dressed as the tree covered with toilet paper. She and I were the only ones who showed up in conceptual costumes. All the men dressed for the John Cusack geek squad, and did so so perfectly that we all knew they were BORN for their roles....)

That was a fun party.

But anyway, huh. My hair is long now. Apparently that is still surprising to me? And to everyone else around here, many of whom keep being surprised when they see me walk up to them with a mane of barely manageable curlishness.

Sometimes I like my hair. Sometimes I don't. When it was short I always liked it, I think. But so far that hasn't made me want to cut it. I'm thinking that two more inches of growth will make all the difference.

I saw the Harry Potter movie last night with Sunny, Leisa, and Cash. Thing is, I haven't read any of the books or seen any of the films. But I had read that this film was dark, brooding, and interesting, and, well, I do find it interesting to see whether projects like this can stand on their own for an unschooled audience like myself. Plus, I just was having a great time hanging out with S and L and C�Cash even cooked me dinner!�so why not go to the movies?! Some things we do just in order to have more time with the people we love. And in any case I thoroughly enjoyed the film, though I'm told that it leaves much of the book untouched. It may even be that I enjoyed the film more than the readers of the series, because I had no basis on which to judge it beyond its own appearance.

Coming tomorrow: NEW photos of Heidi and I driving tiny racecars. That was FUN.

1:20 p.m. - July 16, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me