is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Wish.

I would love to see the life of academic-type people made into an ironic summer blockbuster, full of special effects and big, big budgets.

4:25 p.m. - September 06, 2007
becky - 2007-09-06 18:21:37
I often have a similar thoughts! though I tend to visualize the physicists I work among in weird little short films .. like "Nobel Laureate doing a spit-take" and "quantum theorists try for a simulaneous cannonball into the rec center pool" (in slo-mo).. I don't know why I like to play with them in my mind, like sweet-nerdy ken dolls. I also work amongst chem engineers, but they don't inspire any creative flights of fancy on my end.
-------------------------------
Claverack Weekender - 2007-09-07 10:49:05
I would prefer a Fox summer reality series. Perhaps LAX crossed with Paradise Hotel, but with a bit more of a conference feel??
-------------------------------
John - 2007-09-07 22:25:32
My new idea is more modest: lolprofs.com, modeled after lolcats.com, a site I can't understand, but it is completely bizarre and intriguing for its Esperanto character. Lolprofs.com would be an open upload site of pictures of professors with that strange lolcats.com Esperanto at the bottom. You know, candid shots from in-class cellphones, etc. Our jobs are too free of fear. I'm thinking it will give us an authenticity with the kiddies, a kind of extremeProfessoring...
-------------------------------
John - 2007-09-07 22:52:41
OK, so I've already been alerted: there is a lolprofs thing on Facebook. I'm totally unoriginal and already beaten to the insight. Yet another slow drag on my self-esteem. Happy weekend!
-------------------------------
jill - 2007-09-09 23:50:36
lolprofs is still a good/evil idea. i'm an old lady so i don't even have a facebook profile, though some friends of mine recently tried to talk me into changing that. it just sounds like work to me. maybe the lolprofs site could sponsor voting to determine who ends up on the reality series. locking a bunch of academics in a household together for a month or so would produce some funny footage, methinks.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me