is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where Does Kevin Bacon Fit Here?

You know how the man in charge in Iraq is named General Petraeus? And you know how Charlton Heston was not Doctor Zaius on Planet of the Apes, but was nonethless a star actor in Planet of the Apes? And you know how seminal Austrian rapper Falco rapped his way to fame with a little ditty about Mozart, called Amadeus? Well, that all combines in my head to make an evil murky head-soup wherein I constantly hear mention of Petraeus, which puts the Falco song in my head, but instead of Amadeus, I get the version from The Simpsons about Doctor Zaius, and for some reason it seems to be sung (in my head) in the voice of Charlton Heston, with the urgency of "soylent green is people... it's PEOPLE!". And that is why I have lost my mind.

The only thing that saves the mess, at all, is the fact that, when I hear Charlton Heston urgently dropping science on me about the true nature of soylent green, though he is actually singing about General Petreaus, to the tune of Amadeus via Doctor Zaius, it's the Will Ferrell version of Charlton Heston, which is much better than anything Charlton Heston could cook up for me.

Except that, come to think of it, it wasn't Will Ferrell's Charlton Heston who did that crazy soylent green take-off. It was Phil Hartman's Charlton Heston. Man, why isn't that on YOUTUBE?! I loved Phil Hartman so much, it was almost an obsession. And his Charlton Heston was even better than his Unfrozen Caveman Lawyer (though I myself have found many more moments to quote Unfrozen Caveman Lawyer lines than I have found moments to scream about soylent green. For that I am thankful).

11:15 p.m. - September 11, 2007
RZ - 2007-09-12 04:45:35
"seminal Austrian rapper Falco"? You've been hanging out with Austrians too much. Or with Evany Thomas.
-------------------------------
josiah leet - 2007-09-12 08:26:14
"Alles klar Herr Kommissar?"
-------------------------------
josiah leet - 2007-09-12 19:22:42
I'm thinking Gavrilo Princip ? Tho' arguably he "got the rap" FROM Austria...not so much that he was an actual rapper really. Straight outta' Sarajevo yo'...
-------------------------------
jill - 2007-09-12 16:00:19
Wait. Is it or is it not a fact that Falco is the source of all Austrian rap!?
-------------------------------
jill - 2007-09-13 18:02:03
ha. that is a good one.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me