is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WAA (Working American Adult)

I'm just back from a weekend in Philly, via Trenton, (lead me not into) Penn Station, and two meetings at my new career home. There are lots of meetings in my life now. After my lucky & broke years of being a lady-fellow, I have rejoined the ranks of the Working American Adult (WAA, and the sound the acronym makes is apt), and that life, as most of you know, includes lots of meetings.

However, some of the meetings are about possibly exciting developments for my new career home, so that�s all good.

You can file this next one in the less than good file. It appears I'll still be broke-ish for the next couple of years, as I pay down debt from getting to this relatively (or supposedly) unbroke moment. I just got my first paycheck and, as I feared, with my new New York City rent, and the crazy New York City taxes, and all my various debts and loans, it will still be scraping and collecting-change-time for me every month until I make a dent in the debt. It will be a year or more until I have the breathing room I�d like to have. WAA. Oh well, most other things are going well.

But man, some days it just feels like I�m under the most ridiculous mountain of inescapable untameable arrears, that there may never, NEVER, be an end to it.

You like how I worked �end� and �arrears� into that sentence, don�t you?

Taxes in New York City are InSane. Especially the extra tax on top of the InSane tax charged on any freelance work I do to try to make the ends meet more neatly. It�s crazier here to try to work freelance than it is in other places, I�m told.

The weekend was good. Gus and I both had a lot of work to do, and we spent a great deal of our time doing that, but it was good to be there in Philly with a foxy boy when it came time to take breaks and go get food or watch mildly interesting performance art. Plus we cooked some good meals.

I think the best Flight of the Conchords episode is the one called �Yoko.� It has both the if you�re into it song and the tape of love song.

12:25 a.m. - September 18, 2007
claverack weekender - 2007-09-18 07:40:32
If you can pay it there, you can pay it anywhere! I really fear our move back to the city. Do you spend enough time out of the city to be considered a commuter?
-------------------------------
caroline - 2007-10-11 18:24:02
omg, i love 'lead me not into penn station.'
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me