is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Bagel, Rump, and LadyCat.

I'm being stalked by neighborhood cats. They like to sit on my windowsills and watch me, no matter what room I'm in. There are a bunch of them, but three of them in particular are interested in my doings. Let's refer to them as The Bagel, Rump, and LadyCat. The Bagel got his name when I was describing him to Gus and saying that he looks like a Bengal but probably isn't since he's an alley cat. (Bengals are an expensive hoity-toity breed.) I was going on about how the bengal's face is so expressive it's almost like a human face, so maybe there's a human trapped in an alley-cat body playing peeping tomcat at me, and so on, when Gus said, "why are you calling him a bagel?". He was watching baseball at the time, so let it be admitted that he may hot have been paying the closest attention to my otherwise fascinating story about nieghborhood cats. I said, NOT BAGEL, BENGAL. But henceforth The Bagel's name was determined. Here's The Bagel and Rump.

You can't tell from this photo, but Rump is so-called because he has no tail. But I don't think he's a natural Manx. I think he's an alley cat who came on hard times and lost his tail to violence or tomcatfoolery. Here's a photo of him with LadyCat where you can see his rumpy manxy gloriousness.

Rump and The Bagel seem like boycats and LadyCat seems like a girl cat. She's more shy and skittish, and that's just how girlcats are, you know? But I have no proof about any of this, given that I haven't looked under any tails (or lack thereof) to see what's going on, cat-gender-wise.

Also, one time, I saw Rump and LadyCat in the backyard, and they were hanging out behind the fence instead of in the yard, so I pulled up the screen to see what they were being shy about, and over on the far left side of the backyard there was a HUGE white bunny. It was so huge that it was scary looking. Like it might have fangs, and a cat in its stomach.

I only saw the bunny that one time. I made Gus come look at it, to confirm that it was actually there, that's how strange it all seemed. We decided that maybe he was dressed in white to fool us, like an inverse allegory, and that the cats knew what was up. I have a picture of the devilbunny, aka Lucifurr, but it has not yet been downloaded and I am short on time.

In fact I am short on time almost all the time, as you may have guessed from the nonfrequency with which I have been updating the diary. Turns out, having a new job AND a freelance job is hard, and time-consuming. But I do manage to have a life of sorts outside of it all, and Gus and I do manage to see each other every weekend (except the upcoming weekend, when I'll be in San Francisco for a conference... and LIZ DUNN's birthday party).

Next semester will be better. I'll be done with the freelancing, and I'll be teaching the same two classes I'm teaching now, so I'll have lots of the work done already. Until then, it seems like I'm always looking forward to sleeping, or to the weekend, when I get to see the Gus.

3:02 p.m. - October 03, 2007
josiah leet - 2007-10-03 20:54:48
Hmm...okay, the huge white bunny is most certainly odd...but so is a Manx-that-is-not-a-Manx. How blessed you are with such curious vagabond felines! I do hope you're getting some free-time...perpetual work is a grind. And please do extend a 'bon anniversaire' to Ms. Dunn (I've recently unearthed some late 80's pics of her on a motorbike...oh dear)...hang in there and have fun in Cali !
-------------------------------
craig - 2007-10-04 20:53:16
I live in a house where i sit two cats. They have names from before, but I've never learned them. The are Shameless and Fuzzicus Maximus. Good creatures. They are girls, I think. Tell Liz HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! (all excited like that) Craig
-------------------------------
Texas Cousin - 2007-10-09 08:52:33
I have a grey stalker cat, you can see him or her if you come visit us!!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me