is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Frank Lloyd Wright's Right Angles.

I've been thinking lately about something I once read that was written or stated by Frank Lloyd Wright, about his own furniture designs. He commented on how he always had bruises from walking around his own homes, due to the hard and unforgiving angles of his furniture. Given that I own this style of furniture, and that I am the absent-minded professor, and that I don't watch where I'm going, I am always covered with bruises, too. Frank Lloyd Wright is a master of torture, it turns out. In fact he devilishly designed the mission coffee table to have a hard, hard right angle, right at the level of the knee's funny bone (for a woman who is approximately 5 foot six and walking around in bare feet). Thank you, FLW.

The mission arm chair is great for keeping thigh bruises in season all year round. The desk doesn't injure me as often.

In other news, today it was established in class that it is hilarious if I use the word "shady" but normal if the students use it. That means I'm old.

10:28 p.m. - October 25, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me