is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ruby Atlas!

News: Ruby Atlas Dembo has arrived, at 9am this morning. Wendy is tired but fine. I'm going to visit them tomorrow.

I had dinner with Wendy and Linda last night, at RICE in Brooklyn. Wendy thought she was having contractions. But, in true Wendy style, she made plans for more dining tonight, since Akim is in town and cooking. I guess we'll put that one on hold....

If you do a websearch on Akim you come up mostly with his hip hop work, but no photos of his amazing alphabet, which he sometimes renders in 3D sculpture instead of the typical 2D graffiti mode. But I guess that's what it means to fly under the radar.

Over the weekend I workworkworked. So did Gus. Gus set up headquarters in my cramped office (which currently contains, alongside the normal desk and bookshelf, etc., a daybed stacked on its side and an extra filing cabinet, waiting for me to deal with getting rid of old things to make way for new) and I staked out the couch.

Today I sent off the full manuscript for the Levinas/Nietzsche book that has been underway for so long. Yay. The process isn't entirely over, but the hugest part has ended!

And now I feel like I deserve a vacation or a break or an award, or at least a spa day or a massage. And instead I have to prep my classes for tomorrow. Hello, world.

Gus and I did manage to leave the house a few times, however. On Friday we took advantage of the Friday-night donate-what-you-want hours at both ICP (where there is currently a Robert Capa exhibit which I would describe as interesting but not more than that) and the Met (where we only had time to look at the new modern photography room (it is small, but has a good selection of things, all worth seeing) and an exhibition of early photos made from paper negatives (a good exhibit but a bit overwhelming in the sheer volume of things on display)).

Then we accomplished the impossible. We found a place in Manhattan at which we could have a drink, on a Friday night, in an uncrowded setting, where it was quiet enough that we could actually talk to each other. All in all a good evening.

I feel overworked, but at the same time I feel like I did have a good weekend. This weekend: off to SPEP!

2:11 p.m. - November 05, 2007
caroline - 2007-11-08 01:20:04
psst: it is always donate what you want at the Met. every day, all day. pass it on, but don't tell the tourists.
-------------------------------
Texas Cousin - 2007-11-05 21:27:12
Wendy had a baby? Please tell me more.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me