is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

crapweek!

this is a crapweek! monday: come home from philly, find dead mouse on floor.

tuesday: wake up at 7:15 to find water pouring into the bathroom from the ceiling. tuesday night: my computer crashes, dies.

wednesday: work in office all day, trying to get loaner laptop from college. all kinds of people higher in the administration tell me this is possible. all kinds of people who actually work in the technology department tell me only students can borrow laptops. they do not respond to my suggestion that surely an exception could be made, given that I am waiting for a new machine that they ordered for me. in the meantime here I am waiting for my new laptop to arrive, ordered a month ago. frustrating. I break down and whip out the credit card to rent a laptop from a local service.

thursday: long day, retarded meetings, then I'm asked to send hard copies of my book manuscript to the press. (I submitted the book electronically 2 weeks ago.) when I go to print it out, I find that half of the files that I was able to save from my snafu'd computer are corrupted and will not open. plus, my rental laptop didn't arrive when scheduled. then I had to teach until an hour too late to receive a computer delivery.

today: I woke up at 8am despite feeling exhausted so I'd be awake when the bathroom-ceiling-fixing-guy got here at 8:30. it's now 10am and he's nowhere in sight. I'm tired, hungry, no food in the house, held hostage by an unpresent bathroom-fixing-guy, waiting for a rental laptop because only students can borrow computers, and there's very little I can get done while I wait. and I don't get to see gus this weekend. (another story, and nothing to be mad about. it's just life. and i'll see him in a matter of days for t-giving. so perhaps complaining is not allowed. about that.)

in other news: two snippets of overheard conversations.

1) post office. a woman has apparently never mailed anything in her life before, and she doesn't care who knows, despite the line out the door behind her. as she tries to pick out what size box she wants, she is asked whether she wants to send her package priority mail, and she says she doesn't know what that means (it's not an ESL problem, either). so, the postal clerk says: "where are you sending it [please note, no pause here at all], a correctional facility?"

I live in brooklyn, where 12% of african american males of parenting age will end up in prison. please note that incarceration is not a solution to the "crime problem." it is a way of simultaneously hiding a larger social problem and blaming the communities targeted by racist laws and sentencing guidelines.

her answer was: yes. without indignation or surprise at the question.

2) subway--always end with a joke. two guys are on the subway. subway guys. I call them subways guys because they are a type. the type who have really loud conversations on subway trains because they want to be heard. it's really more like uninventive performance art than conversation between 2 friends. anyway, they're talking about what? girls. and finally one of them, after a looong discourse on how desirable he is, says: "I hate it when stupid girls talk to me."

I think to myself, "now that IS a real problem, because any girl who talks to you is stupid." heh.

while I thumb-typed this, ceiling-fixing-guy came by to say he can't fix my ceiling today because the leak isn't entirely fixed yet. crapweek!

in my building in sf the landlord would hire handymen who were so crazy-incompetent that it really was like hiring the keystone cops. oh, the stories I could tell. a ladder came through my bedroom window once. and once, while I was watching tv, a foot came through the ceiling!

but here in brooklandia, it's just the problem of a bad juxtaposition of caribbean pacing placed in new york city. they've been renovating the apartment upstairs, v e r y s l o w l y, ever since before I moved in. I can't believe any nyc property owner would put up with it, in terms of lost rental earnings. but my part of brooklyn is also a tiny slice of the west indies. it's not bad, though. hurry up and wait, my friend. why are you worried?

posted by sidekick 3

10:16 a.m. - November 16, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me