is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Plans Unlaid.

Man! You know how sometimes you have plans and they just don't work? And you know how I said a while ago that my new apartment is usually quiet but then sometimes incredibly loud, and one can never predict when that will be? Well, today I had planned to get a lot of work done that requires quiet, but my apartment building would not cooperate. Not at all. Frustrating. But I did get some other shit done.

Like I FINALLY hung up the custom-made blinds I ordered for the living room. I have this huge window for which it was really hard to find a covering. I finally found one I wanted, ordered swatches, chose, ordered the blinds, etc., and they arrived like two months ago and have sat in the corner ever since waiting to be installed.

They look good.

NOISE: For the whole six months I've lived here they have been working on the apartment upstairs. Apparently the building owner is fed up and has strategically placed some fire under the asses of workers, so they've been working way too early and way too late to get it done, and it is all the very loudest work. I lost it last night when my building super stopped by to see how I was taking it. And then I wrote a long letter to the rental company detailing everything I've put up with without complaining FOR SIX MONTHS, so that they can have that on file when it comes time to raise the rent. Anyway, sometimes writing letters lets me process things so that I can put them to the side.

Then some crazy woman was in the hallway talking way too loud on her cellphone right outside my apartment door for like 45 minutes? After 10 minutes I opened the door and reminded her that people LIVE in apartment buildings and why the hell did she have to have her conversation RIGHT THERE in front of my door, but she was unmoved.

Let's just say that I got my heartrate up today without benefit of a cardio workout.

Also, they were supposed to fix the ceiling and walls in my bathroom and second bedroom today, from the water damage caused by the renovation upstairs. They never showed up.

But, hey, I decided to listen to some music, and it soothed the savage beast in me. I am really having a second affair with John Vanderslice's Emerald City. He once told me, when I was calling Pixel Revolt a lady-like record (in the very best of ways), that his next would be a male hustler, a bit too dangerous for the ladies. I'm not sure it is, unless his (aka Emerald City's) hustling strategy is to creep quietly in to the backs of minds and tell some beautiful and affecting stories. I suppose that could be a hustle. In any case it's working.

And then I got a cute little email from JV himself in response to something I sent him weeks ago. Why are quirks of timing like that so appealing?

In other news, after I mentioned Mr. Perrone in the diary a week or so ago, he wrote me an email! It was funny in a distinctly Perrone-ish way. So, to do justice to him, I should reveal that he does not recall objecting to my affinity for Christine McVie over Stevie Nicks. Quoth Perrone:

"My 'thing' for Stevie is more about the iconic phenomenon and less about the actual person. She's like a Tolkien character that fell through a time-portal, did too much coke and got trapped in California."

Indeed she is. It makes me wonder whether my thing for Steve was like that (by which I mean "about the iconic phenomenon"). I mean, he's kind of like a guitar guy who travelled to one of my parties in a time machine directly from the 1970s. In the very best way.

In addition Mr. Perrone has done us all a service this shopping season by pointing out this site of Stevie-inspired art. Including TAMBOURINE ART. Reserve yours today. And let us thank Mr. Perrone.

Ugh. Things are quieting down now. So perhaps I should try to squeeze some work out of the remaining hours before the handsome Gus gets here, and we take off to go meet Dave Eggers and some other friends at a bar. Or we don't do that because we're lame and like to stay home. It could go either way at every single moment!

The same could be said of me and my relationship to all the work I have to do.

6:05 p.m. - November 30, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me