is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dolfo de Nariz Roja!

On Tuesday night, on CBS, at 8 pm, is this year's showing of my favorite ever little show, called RUDOLPH THE RED-NOSED REINDEER. It is not only a show featuring cute cute claymation reindeer. The show is all about ethics, and has been formative for me on many levels, from a very young age, with its gentle love of alienated outsiders, to its dorky little songs, and its lessons in the hazards of both rampant consumerism and closed-minded normativity. I suggest you WATCH IT.

I just searched the diary to see whether I had ever written about Dolfo de Nariz Roja (we had to sing the theme song in one of my high school spanish classes) before and found this entry.

Ah, I remember that New Year's Eve well. The untold part of that story is that on the way home from the party it was me, Stephen, and Marco in the car, and Stephen and I were MAD at each other, and we kept drunkenly telling Marco what the other one did, and DID HE BELIEVE IT? and so on. Marco was very amused, and very patient. And the next day, none of it mattered. I read Levinas and ate pizza and watched TV to nurse my hangover, and then wrote a long Levinasian meditation on mortality. And for that I thank RUDOLPH.

Today on television I saw an advertisement featuring two young children watching RUDOLPH while holding Rudolph and Clarice stuffed animals, and I wanted the SHIT out of those stuffed animals. And then I learned that you have to go MAKE the stuffed animals at a Build-a-Bear workshop. And, though aging does free me from many of the pressures of being cool, I'm not sure I'm quite dorky enough yet to go Build A Bear on my own. (I fear it would be like the time I rode the carousel at the Smithsonian on my own and all the parents were looking at me like they feared I was a child molester.)

So... do you want to come with? Or do you want to go build me a Rudolph, hero? If you do, please do not build me the version of Rudolph as gay central park skater dude, ok? I like my reindeer NAKED.

Clarice looks cute, too.

11:15 p.m. - December 03, 2007
bunny - 2007-12-04 06:54:14
even if rudolph-as-gay-skater-park-dude comes with the 'i love you' soundtrack?
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me