is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Save .

Allow me to save you $10 if I'm not too late. Don't bother seeing Walk Hard. It's not terrible, but it's also not very funny. There are countless other ways to spend 2 hours and $10 that would be better for you. I thought the movie would be more like A Mighty Wind or others in the Spinal Tap lineage (and it certainly had the cast for it), but instead it was a very, very, very straightforward comic imitation of the genre of musician-biography movie. So don't bother.

Man, it's raining here in SF. In about a half an hour I have to leave the house to meet Evany at MOMA, and I predict that I am going to be very very rain-soaked by the time I see her, given that I have the 700 Vulcan steps to navigate and then the walk down to the Castro MUNI station before I'll encounter shelter. Oh well.

Gus left last night. He's still really cute.

New Year's Eve was fun. I took Gus for dinner at TWO on Hawthorne Lane. We ate lots of good food (I had that caramelized broccoli again... still amazing) and wine, and then we took MUNI to Sunny's place on Bernal Hill, and joined a small party of good good friends. We danced a bit, karaoke'd a bit, engaged in hilarity and hijinx, had a LOT of champagne and some tasty snacks, and played with helium balloons. All good. I'll try to post some photos later.

Yesterday it was raining so hard that Gus and I did not dare leave the house. The wind was so forceful that the building was shaking like it was earthquaking all day. So we ordered up a mess of Indian food to be delivered and had a leisurely day reading and talking and eating, and then we bought a mess of episodes of WEEDS on i-tunes and watched them (because there's no TV in the apartment I'm housesitting right now).

I'd heard that WEEDS was a good show, and it's OK. It's about how in suburbia everyone has a secret life, especially pot-dealing moms. That makes for good TV, I guess, but the show is more straightforward "TV entertainment" than I thought it would be. (It's not Deadwood, or The Wire, or even Sex in the City.)

While Gus and I were still housesitting for Roderick and James in their lovely lovely house with their lovely lovely huge television with Comcast On Demand, we watched a whole mess of episodes of The Wire from last season. Now THAT is a show.

11:56 a.m. - January 05, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me