is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pictures and Movies. Godiva in the City.

Christmastime in Catland.

The view from that lovely hotelroom in Puerto Vallarta.

Wow. Why I am not still THERE?

Back in frigid sleety New York, I saw There Will Be Blood. Last night. You all know I like Paul Thomas Anderson. I went cuckoo for Magnolia. This new film IS worth seeing, very much so. It accomplishes some wonders, such that you find yourself agog, saying to yourself, things are POSSIBLE in movies.

But then it really starts to bug out a bit toward the end. I wish PTA would let someone give him some advice on how to deal with his father issues. But all in all, I say it's a win. Still, it's hard not to be disappointed by how PTA shoots himself in the leg and then seems to expect us to love watching it, too.

How about that crazy-in-an-inspired-way soundtrack by the not-Thom-Yorke Radiohead guy? Wow?! Not expected, and jarring, but somehow also just right. There will be blood!

Gus and I saw Persepolis over the weekend. It was good, too. But it doesn't wow you with a sense that amazing untold things are possible with film. It's just an inherently interesting story told in the form of a graphic novel that moves rather than requiring you to turn pages. A graphic novel for lazy people! Ha.

In other news, when I got back to my apartment from my month-long Puerto Vallarta to San Francisco to Philly trek, I found a note that a neighbor was holding a package for me. Literally. It was a large box of Godiva chocolates from my landlord, to thank me slash apologize to me for the six months of construction work. Ha. You know how I feel about Godiva chocolates, and the funny fallout from that!

So I had to laugh extra hard to think that my apology letter came not in the form of a rent refund but in a box of Godiva. And it was the MILK CHOCOLATE box. Ugh. I don't even LIKE milk chocolate. (Too bad Richard isn't here to help out with the eating part.)

However, it's chocolate, so of course I ate some. And I have to admit that it's pretty good. Better than most Godiva I've had. The selection is a good selection, mostly caramels and nut-jobs, without any of the frilly disgusting creme-y filling that are rumored to taste like fruit or liquor, but always make me feel like someone just offered me pre-chewed candy out of their unbrushed-tooth mouth. In sum: big box of Godiva milk chocolate not as bad as one might expect. And yes, I do have sex in the city.

11:46 p.m. - January 17, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me