is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Addicted to Chocohol.

I know that there are probably people out there who are grateful that the Recchiuti email-machine reminds them that they can still order Valentine chocolates for their sweetie in time to get them to him or her by Valentine's day... even on February 13! But at the same time it seems to me that being reminded of that will also make the inevitable receiving-nothing that most people face on Valentine's day just that much less sweet. Damn you, Recchiuti!

Another reason to damn my favorite chocolatier: The box of 16 chocolates costs $43. Yes, these are high-end chocolates of unending yumminess for discerning palates and so on. But if you go to the store in the Ferry Building in SF and buy sixteen different chocolates � la carte, they'll sell them to you by weight and I swear it will cost you $15 or so, even with the brownie you couldn't help buying to go with the chocolates. So the box and ribbon cost $25? Dude. You make me sad.

If I were in San Francisco I could get over this by going there and proving myself right. But I am not in San Francisco. Damn you, Recchiuti!

However, for those of you ready to reach into your wallets and pay $43 for the medium Valentine's Day box (AKA the Black Box during non-Valentine-times) I can attest that it is the best possible selection of Recchiuti chocolates that one could hope for if one weren't making the selections oneself. Check out its contents here. It has the Star Anise and Pink Peppercorn truffle about which I have written many times. Bergamot. Tarragon Grapefruit. Burnt Caramel. Force Noir. Lavender Vanilla. Spring Jasmine Tea. Rose Caramel. AND SO ON. These are all the ones I would choose for myself if I were there to do the choosing! The only wonders lacking are Cinnamon Malt, Fleur de Sel Caramel, a Pates de Fruits or two, and some varietals. Maybe a Pearl Mint Tea, too.

I'm like an alcoholic, but with chocolate. That's right. I'm addicted to chocohol.

12:05 a.m. - February 13, 2008
js - 2008-02-17 12:05:08
wow. if i had a time machine i wouldn't want to abuse it too much, but traveling back in time to hear a dung heap sing is mighty tempting. not to mention the rest of what would be called "odyssey rock." wow.
-------------------------------
josiah leet - 2008-02-13 08:04:37
Force Noir ? I would buy that just for the name...ala Vince Noir of The Mighty Boosh, also a sweets obsessed character. But hey, I\'m still stuck on The Snuggler, that micro-vid totally made my day yesterday. If my Aunt Anita had a beard (because she already has the hi-rider jean-shorts) she would be Zach G., in like, a Connecticut suburbs kind of way.
-------------------------------
js - 2008-02-13 11:28:21
Hey Josiah! I just realized that it was on the way home from my last year\'s failed V-Day that I re-met you on the Southwest flight to Philly. (Last year I tried to fly to SF to take one of my best friends on a V-Day date but instead ended up on a 14-hour snow-day air-travel odyssey. V-Day just is not good to me. Ever. You\'d think I\'d just give up by now. I mean, the evidence, all tallied, conspires to convict me of insanity for still being surprised by how things suck every single year. Ha.)
-------------------------------
josiah leet - 2008-02-13 16:46:50
Indeed...as I do most readily recall, tho\' I suppose I was unaware of the Odyssean status of your air-travel. Lo that cursed day...as if the surfeit of truly bad candy on Feb.14th was not in itself an omen of sorts. That two-bit tyrant Cupid is to blame...that little wannabe angel is a punk-ass cherub. Okay...sorry, had to let that out. But it still stands Miss Jill, that you don\'t look a day over 1989...indeed.
-------------------------------
caroline - 2008-02-16 02:50:45
wait, you're listening to eumaeus? the swineherd? i thought he only sang in mrs rice's 12 grade 'odyssey rock.' actually, the dung heap sang, too. the song was about being good to your dog.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me