is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Leap Day. Garfield.

I think February 29 should be a day outside of normal time. It should be a holiday. Furthermore, it shouldn't be called Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday or Sunday. It's just Leap Day. And on Leap Day no one goes to work. The calender doesn't apply. It's inoperative. There's not even a sheet of paper to tear out of your word-or-cat-of-the-day calendar. Businesses are closed, just like they used to be on holidays. ATMs don't even work. A day outside of normal time, and you get it every four years, to spend however you like (well, except that you can't spend it shopping or eating out because businesses are closed).

I made a pie on Leap Day this year. A pumpkin pie. I made it old-school, with evaporated milk (this is 50s-style. Usually when I make a pumpkin pie I make it with heavy cream. But I had a can of evaporated milk that was going to expire in the next month and was trying to figure out how to use it. So I pulled out my old-school Betty Crocker cookbook and it led me right to pumpkin pie, old-school).

It was tasty. It was perfect, also, that Fresh Direct was out of heavy cream and so I had to buy Reddi-Whip instead.

That was Leap Day. I also made a lasagna-like baked pasta entree. Gus and I stuffed ourselves and drank beer and watched television. All good. Except that they called Leap Day Friday, so it wasn't outside of normal time.

Also, Garfield happened. No, I'm not talking about 20th President of the United States, the one from Ohio, the 2nd president to be assassinated.

It all started when Gus sent me this�a collection of Garfield cartoons minus Garfield. I sent it on to Caroleen, Evany, and my sister, and then Caroleen sent back this, a collection of videos enacting and elaborating on themes from Garfield cartoons. I haven't watched them all, but this is my favorite so far:


10:32 p.m. - March 03, 2008
js/felix culpa - 2008-03-16 22:30:45
wow. thanks! i've always suspected there must be other felix culpas out there....
-------------------------------
ed fielding - 2008-03-11 09:17:08
Thus to register my pleasure in coming upon your site. Being a recluse reconciled to unhappiness of a sort, and entering the first day of my 66th year and in the event discovering unexpected pleasure; the greatest surprise thus far was to encounter your page �Felix Culpa and Anne Senhal, from h2so4 7�. Backtracking, Felix Culpa has been my sometime nom d�art for 25 years, most of my scattered blog comments are signed so, and for a birthday excursion I went Googling for news of fellow-feeling. Fruitful, but the finest apple was your probing of romantic depths and currents. I�ve wrestled with romantic torments by writing them out for the past decade and more, and I�ve failed to capture its likeness so well. So consider yourself bookmarked, with gratitude, ed/felix & pumpkin pie! My standard of excellence for 60 years. Righteous!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me