is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Be Kind Rewind. Plus: Sweded Pepe Le Pew.

First of all, I really really want you all to go see Be Kind Rewind right away. STAT. It's good. Don't pay attention to the trailers or the good or bad reviews. Just go. No one could possibly tell you in advance what it is like to be there, watching that movie. But, despite the existence of bad reviews, I feel I can promise you that you will find it funny, smart, cute, and possibly inspiring, though of course that last part is a tall order and it's up to you what you will allow to fill it.

Then, after you see it, we can talk about which parts you think are funniest, and what you think about it in general. OK?

So that's part of what I did this weekend. Gus and I saw Be Kind Rewind and loved it, and spent a bunch of time after seeing it finding it impossible to wipe large grins off of our faces. Then we spent too much time on the WORLD WIDE WEB looking for "sweded" films.

On Friday we went to the Whitney Biennial. It was OK. I saw some good things. But much of what I saw was forgettable and ultimately fairly similar to what is currently ongoing at the New Museum. It made me have a bunch of thoughts about high art versus low art, and where each category gets its lines drawn and who gets to do the drawing, and whether I want there to be a space for high art, or whether the mix-up is good... and so on.

Somehow seeing Be Kind Rewind renewed my faith in the bigness of small things in a way I would have liked some of the other art to have done for me. But like I said inspiration is a tall order and you can't always predict what will fill it for you, though it does require being open to its occurrence.

While we ate lunch on Friday I asked Gus whether he wanted me to make an apple tart or a chocolate walnut tart this weekend. It took him so long to answer that I started laughing. Apparently he was afraid to choose because he didn't want to live with having said no to either one. So I promised that I'd make one this weekend and the other one the next time we bake. So he went for apple.

After the Whitney he went to meet his sister for awhile, and I went back home to do some work. Later that night, when he got back to our place, he had this excited hopeful look on his face, because he thought apple tart would be waiting. But I hadn't made the tart because I was thinking it was a Saturday thing. Ha. Oh the disappointment. Luckily I was still able to produce for him a chocolate sundae with whipped cream and slivered almonds. All good.

Meanwhile, on Saturday, when we got back from the movie, we ate lots of apple tart while watching sweded films.

Ladycat and The Rump spent all weekend watching us. The Bagel and Cowboy seem to have given up on the most-boring-reality-show-for-cats ever staged. Rump is really friendly and constantly rubs his face on my window screens and such. Ladycat is more uppity and gets crazy and hisses if you do anything you haven't done before, like look at her out of a different window. But she's so cute that it's funny when she hisses. In fact she resembles the cat in the Pepe Le Pew cartoons. You know. Pepe Le Pew is a SKUNK who thinks he is in love with a black and white cat, but the cat is not having it, and always has a look on her face, while stuck deep in a skunk embrace, of "How?! ... the HELL?! ... did I end up HERE?!"

That's how Ladycat always looks. How?! ... the HELL?! ... did I end up an ALLEY CAT?! ... in a world like THIS?!" And so today I made myself a really large omelette and gave the leftovers to Ladycat and the Rump.

Wow. I should make a sweded version of the Pepe Le Pew cartoon using LADYCAT! Oh. Except that she's feral and would probably kill me.

11:37 p.m. - March 16, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me