is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too S to T.

Today I was supposed to fly to SF for a conference, but I'm too sick to travel. That makes me sad. You know what else makes me sad? Being miserably ill.

Yesterday, while miserably ill, I tried to act like things were normal. I had an 11:30 meeting. Then I taught my 12:30 class. Then I taught 1/2 of my 1:55 class. I cancelled my 6:25 class, but I still had another meeting at 4pm, an interview for a fellowship. Ugh. I promised myself I wouldn't even mention illness, and just do the best I could. It went fairly well. It was funny, however, that during the first half hour, when the interviewer was describing the program and what was required, etc., I was all "why does this feel so deja vu-y?" and then I remembered: it felt SO MUCH like the time I had the job interview in Los Angeles and was really sick, and trying to behave like I wasn't sick.

But at least this interview only lasted one hour instead of 13 hours, and ended with me getting an unofficial offer, rather than a rejection. So I guess I did OK. I'll keep you posted.

Still. I wish I were flying to San Francisco. I was supposed to spend this evening at Caroleen's, lunch with my Dad tomorrow, then meet Alison, in town from AUSTRALIA. She and I were going to go to the Berkeley Art Museum, then dine with my mom, sister and brother-in-law. Then she and I would check into the Hotel Durant to get ready for the Law, Culture, and the Humanities Conference at Berkeley. I was looking forward to the conference, which is one of my favorites. I wanted to see Alison's plenary, and I was scheduled to be on two panels, for which I've already done the work, etc. I have lots of academic friends who attend this conference every year whom I was looking forward to seeing.

Plus Caroleen's having a BBQ, and I was all excited to see Evany and Marco, Heidi, Liz, Sunny, and so on.

But no. It seems I will spend the next five days on my couch watching bad television and wishing I had a dishwasher and personal chef or robot valet.

7:14 a.m. - March 26, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me