is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vampires and Werewolves Makin' It.

Last night Gus was talking about Dracula. It has something to do with his teaching. Not that he sucks the blood of his students, but that he has assigned Bram Stoker's Dracula for them to read. We discussed possibly watching Francis Ford Coppola's Bram Stoker's Dracula on the TEEvee. And then we started joking about other vampire movies. Which led to werewolf movies. Then Gus made some comment about how I might desire to kiss the blonde guy in An American Werewolf in London. I disagreed, and not only because the guy isn't blonde. I said, "I can't remember who it was, but in my mind he's like a cross between Griffin Dunne and the Dr. Pepper guy." Gus said he knew the type I was referring to. So I made him do an IMBD search so we could find out who the guy was. Turns out, Griffin Dunne was in that movie! Along with a guy named David Naughton. I looked at David Naughton's current photo (as an older guy) and said, "Hey, I think maybe that IS the Dr. Pepper guy." Wow. What a strange memory I have, when I think that the actor in an oldish movie I may never have seen is a cross between two actors who actually were in the movie. A Google search confirmed it. David Naughton is the Dr. Pepper guy. The Google search brought us to a YouTube video of him dancing and singing up the virtues of Dr. Pepper. That also led us to a video of his 70s disco hit "Makin' It." (My advice: don't click on that Makin' It link. If you remember the song it will get stuck in your head, and not in a good way. Though it's fun, briefly, to watch the DJ sort through his records labeled with the beats-per-minute and so on.) Anyway, we got a whole bunch of laughs out of the whole scenario, at all its various steps of websearch.

PS�This post by Stephen in the Vintage Microwave blog is REALLY REALLY FUNNY.

1:54 p.m. - April 25, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me