is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Loads of Eating.

My mom and sister visited me a couple of weeks ago, for a long weekend. Gus had shuffled off to Buffalo for a conference. So my mother, sister and I wreaked havoc all over New York, in a way that involved mostly eating, shopping, and looking at art. We ate at the all macaroni and cheese restaurant called S'MAC, and wow, was that tasty and dangerous. Go there. But if you go there, don't be foolish and order anything larger than the "nosh" size of Mac-cheese-skillet, even though, in your madness, you'll think you'll need more than the nosh size. Trust me. You won't. You don't.

We also went to the Met. Looked at arts and stuff. I saw the new photography exhibit there. It's OK, but not on-its-own worth going out of your way to see.

I took them to the miraculous Century 21, the designer discount department store across the street from Ground Zero. And we walked around Soho, where we looked at lots and lots of lovely shoes, and I got some fabulous new shoes on lucky-size-left sale. (Note, I wear this shoe without the weird golf-shoe removable flap part.)

We of course stopped by the Fluevog store. This time I was wearing my dark red leather CeCe High boots. Last time I had been wearing my light blue suede CeCe High boots, and the two women working had gone all a-crazy for them. This time two cute hipster boys were there working, and they went all a-crazy for the red boots. Gus was sure they were flirting with me when I told him this story, but I'm pretty sure that young hipsters, such as they were, were more interested in the vintagey hot value of my limited edition boots. However, I like it that Gus thinks shoe clerks might be flirting with me.

Exciting news: I was told to keep watching the site this fall for possible NEW COLORS.

We ate at Spring Street Natural.

We spent a day in Brooklyn. Ate at Flatbush Farm, where brunch is perfect, and so is every other meal. Checked out my digs, and ate a whole bunch of yummy birthday cake I had made for my sister (white cake filled with fresh strawberries and whipped cream). We tried to go to the hipstery Japanese art exhibit at the Brooklyn Museum but the line was longer than a Swedish arthouse film, and so we just said no.

We tried to go to the Campbell apartment bar, but it's all swanky and my mom and sis were both wearing sneakers on that day, so they said no. We went to Bookmarks instead, in the Library Hotel, on the roof. It was a nice spring day so that was perfect.

We had a great dinner at the spendy restaurant in the Iroquois hotel, where my mom and sis were staying. The dinner was FREE because my mom is in the travel business and sends a bunch of business their way.

All in all a good weekend. This weekend I'm in Philly. Same kind of a weekend, for me at least. Gus kept having to go to work, even though it was the weekend, but there was a board meeting and some really great developments for him, so that's all worthwhile.

On Friday I was out shopping around. The Loehmann's here is closing, so everything in the store is an additional 50% off. I bought a really cute Tokidoki by le Sportsac purse for 1/4 of what it was supposed to cost. Yay. It's cute and the perfect size for lugging wallet/sidekick/sunglasses/accessories and book around the subways all summer. Then Gus met me somewhere between BCBG and Max Studio on the way home from his meeting. He looked very handsome in his jacket and tie, for about two minutes before the tie disappeared. Then he still looked handsome. I didn't buy any dresses because part of Operation: Live Within Means has made me very, very picky about purchases, and, while there were some cute things, none of them were purrfect.

We bought Gus some pants and a shirt. Then we went to Continental Midtown and had the best dinner ever. I had a drink called Buzz Aldrin made of peach vodka and Tang. We had a perfect chopped salad, fish tacos, and LOBSTER MASHED POTATOES. Gus was a doubter at first about the lobster mash, but he came around as soon as he got some into his mouth. For dessert we had watermelon cotton candy and ice cream sandwiches made with the most amazing homemade mint-chip ice cream. The mint tasted very real-minty instead of artificial minty.

Last night we went to the new private-room karaoke place around the corner. It's called Japas. Because it serves Japanese Tapas? Ha. If you ask me, "Japas" sounds like something you're not supposed to say in polite company, but oh well. Homay, Emma, Heather, Virginia, Gus and I sang until we lost our voices. Today we are recovering and trying to do a bit of work. The huge banana pecan pancakes with icy coke helped jumpstart the day. Spring break ends at midnight.

3:36 p.m. - April 27, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me