is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm bringing Etsy back. Slowly.

i am so full of ideas! and right now the fact that the semester will be over soon, meaning that I may actually get to work on my own ideas, well, it's tantalizing. but then i think about the amount of work that has to be done between that upcoming relative freedom and this moment's relative captivity, and, ugh, ouch. it hurts, all the grading of student papers and finals, and the writing of my own papers for two conferences, and so on.

However, just to get things rolling, I posted some items to the etsy shop. I have some really good ideas for new necklaces and earrings, and I think you'll like them... in coming months when I get around to making them. For now you have a chance to order some older styles before I stop making them.

AND. I think over the summer I'll also make available some of my baked goods and hand-made candies. In particular I am trying to perfect a marshmallow recipe so I can make PEEPS that actually taste good. That idea arrives courtesy of one of the many random funny conversations I've had with my physical therapist while he stretches me out into very painful positions and then laughs at my pain. One day we were talking about candy that you always want to like but never end up liking. So I decided I would learn how to make Peeps. Then I said I would make them in the shape of endangered rainforest animals, and sell them to Whole Foods. The saddest part of it all is that I am more likely to get rich doing that than being a philosophy professor.

Anyway, JEWELS AND SWEETS. On the way. I just have to get through the next three weeks.

That's it. Now I'm signing off from a guest room in Bethesda, MD. Last night I couldn't sleep because of the loud refrigerator (I have a bizarre sensitivity to machine noises... which I'm sure makes me seem like a crazy person sometimes), so tonight we're trying a different sleeping location. Oh, sweet sleep.

10:43 p.m. - May 10, 2008
josiah leet - 2008-05-11 13:15:26
AMAZON PEEPS ! Lemme' know, I'll set-up the meetings...dude, those would SO freakin' sell. But yeah...sometimes I think philosophy (like poetry) is best kept a secret...but what do I know, I'm the guy with topsoil on his boots and hotdog wrappers on the dash of his car. cheers Jill...and have a lovely 3rd Wednesday of May when you get there...
-------------------------------
js - 2008-05-16 09:51:37
aw, shucks. thanks for remembering my birthday, josiah! and how have you been....?
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me