is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Peeps For Beta-Testing.

My peeps are in the house. No, I'm not trying to drop some urban slang on you. I've made some homemade marshmallow animals, and they are in my house right now. They're pretty tasty. I consider these to be the Beta Version. They may need more vanilla. Perhaps even an almond flavored version? They may need to be firmer? But then again the meltiness is pretty awesome. I've found, conclusively, that they are good plain, and they are excellent in hot chocolate. But I need some help with the tweaking.

By tweaking I mean I'd like to know what other people think about the flavor and texture. I'm the one who has to figure out how to get the edges of the animals more crisp....

I've got some ideas about that already (strangely, intensely sticky food matter is not as hard to work with as I thought it would be) (though, if we consult the history of peeps, we might conclude that marshmallow animals have to be low on detail, high on fluff).

It's a work in progress. So.... do you want to be a beta tester? Do you want to take these cute little things and rough them up with your teeth? Perhaps you do. And, if you REALLY do, and you don't happen to be a friend of mine living in New York, all you have to do is send me $5. I'll even kick in a serving of my signature chile-chocolate mexican hot cocoa, in powder form. You can eat up the product, then let me know what you want more of, less of, different, better, and so on, from your marshmallow animal (for once, that is not a metaphor at all).

Right now I've got a cat, a horse, a lion, a pig, a dove, a duck, and various old-school cubes, all in marshmallow form. I've also got a bunch of abstract smaller shapes destined to be consumed in your cocoa.

So, if you're interested, you can Paypal me $5 (instructions below**). If you have preferences as to the animal or shapes you'd like, let me know. And also let me know whether you want the bonus cocoa mix, and, if so, whether you want its chile-kick to be uppity, rowdy, or raucous (with raucous being the kickingest on the scale of uppity to raucous).

Your order will arrive by US Mail in a tupperware container wrapped in paper. It's just crazy enough to work.

You'll want to make that order by Thursday, because I'm leaving town for a week early Monday morning. You can make the order later, of course. But then you'll just have to wait. It's OK. Fresh marshmallows stay that way for a month. And I know you know how to use your time.

Once we've done the testing and worked out the kinks, I may make them more available on etsy, and I'll work on adding chocolate-dipped marshmallows, and gourmet-flavored marshmallows (anise, or sesame, anyone?), and of course colored-sugar coated animals for the peeps-nostalgia factor.

In other news, I saw the Sex and the City movie tonight. I thought it was good! I don't know what the haters are hating. My heart sank a bit for the first half hour or so as the movie seemed to spiral into an advertisement for big weddings, but that turned around and things got more complicated. There were touching moments, really funny moments, feelgood moments, feelbad moments. All good. No complaints here. So I'd say if you liked the show, go see the movie--it's a good summer pick for a weekend afternoon.

**if you really want my peeps in your house, go to Paypal, log in, click on send money, enter [email protected] in the TO category, enter $5.00, and click "send money." On the next page you'll have the opportunity to write a message saying what kind of marshmallows you want, whether you want the hot cocoa bonus, and just how much kicking you can take from a mug of chocolate. Make sure the mailing address on your account is your current mailing address.

12:21 a.m. - June 03, 2008
Paul - 2008-06-03 15:23:04
Yo, props to your peeps!
-------------------------------
josiah leet - 2008-06-04 16:15:39
Where might one go to "consult the history of peeps"...indeed. The mind also reels at "the hot cocoa bonus", gracious me. After you have payPal'd and Etsy'd these bad boys for a bit, we'll set-up the demo- at one of the Manhattan WF test-kitchens...oh yeah, it's on like Donkey Peeping Kong !
-------------------------------
js - 2008-06-04 23:38:18
wow. i just ate some more marshmallows today, and they are even more amazingly delicious after a day or two of sitting around. i gave some to catherine and q at dinner and they were astounded into silence, followed by praise.
-------------------------------
marilyn - 2008-06-05 19:49:40
Is this a peeps obsession?
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me