is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

someone else�s orbs of discernment.

Last night I was dining at Spring Street Natural with Catherine (that�s right, Catherine, my fellow graduate student in Rhetoric lo! those many years ago) and Q (my excellent colleague at CUNY), and I informed them that after our meal I was going to have them test my marshmallows. They looked confused; I explained; then Catherine said to Q: �You would not BELIEVE how tasty some things Jill has baked are!� Q responded: �Oh, I know. Jill is a modest person, but when it comes to baked goods, she�s comfortable telling you that she makes excellent cakes.� Ha, I laughed. So did Catherine. Because it�s true. I never thought about it that way before, but it�s true. Catherine said: �I never thought about it that way before, but it�s true.�

Always interesting to see yourself through someone else�s orbs of discernment.

Have I told you lately? I CAN BAKE TASTY THINGS.

Anyway, fast forward a half an hour or so, when we all have the marshmallows in our mouths. We were all astounded by how freaking good they are�they because they had no idea marshmallows could be so good, me because the marshmallows had magically gotten like 80 times tastier as they sat still for a day or so. Who knew? Now we know.

So, those of you who have marshmallows headed your way in the mail (see here for info if you�re interested), I�m thinking you�ll be happy about it when they get there. And I�ll be interested to hear what you think about them, pros and cons.

9:17 p.m. - June 05, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me