is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Black Fly in Chardonnay.

I�m sure there�s an angle from which what happened to me today could be declared �ironic.� It�s a simple thing. It was raining and I had to do a lot of walking, so I wore the Dansko clogs. You know, the clogs I was talking about just two days ago? The clogs that, though they are tremendously comfortable even after a long day of walking, still, whenever I wear them they make me feel like a docent with cow hooves. Or someone who can't wait until the next time she gets to do a twirly dance at a Phish concert. Or a dowdy teacher. (In fact I sometimes rely on their insta-dowdy powers. There are some dresses the effect of which is transformed utterly by choice of footwear such that the same dress could be Hott if worn with the Fluevog Summertime Sunbeams, Cute if worn with the miracle J-41 St. Martin sandals, and Dowdy if worn with Dansko Madrigal clogs. Even if (or perhaps especially if) those Dansko Madrigal clogs are purple with red trim. Sometimes I really do want to make the transformation from hott or cute to dowdy, for the sake of audience. I�m a teacher.)

So I was wearing the clogs today (can we pause a moment and just consider the word �clogs�?), because it was raining, and it sucks to wear sandals in the rain and walk around New York City getting dirty disgusting guttery rainwater all over your feet and smashed into your shoes.

�Irony� would enter into the narrative, if it entered at all, only when three different people whom I do not know decided, during the course of the day, that my shoes are really cute! They all said, �wow, your shoes are SO CUTE.� In those words exactly. That made me laugh.

It would be ironic, I suppose, that this happened, only if it were somehow true that the shoes ARE cute but I had remained unaware of that. But the cuteness of the shoes is not proven by woman-on-the-street commentary�even when the women making the comment are all pretty cute themselves. The commentary proves only that cuteness is in the eye of the beholder. (Thus, though Alanis Morissette might once have thought it all very ironic (and by now I'm certain she must think differently, given how many times that joke has been made, but here's one good example of that joke, to make up for the bad example just offered by me), I do not.)

The clogs are OK. I will keep them because they are useful, they are comfortable, and, sometimes, they transform a borderline hott outfit or dress into something I can wear for teaching with their insta-dowdy powers. But they�re just not that cute. According to me.

PS--Marshmallows for sale. Save me from eating them all. Buy some.

12:03 a.m. - June 25, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me