is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hopefully the time will soon come for such things.

You know, I really do love making cakes and pies. And having baking as a hobby is great because it pleases my friends, too. But I have to say that there is nothing quite like the look on a person's face the first time a person puts a homemade marshmallow in that same person's mouth. Catherine, Q, Gus, Jonathan, Alexa, Eva, and reports of encounters from far away, all very satisfying. Not to mention the amount of time I've spent engaged in feeding the things to my own face.

Anyway. They'll be gone soon. And then they won't return until the fall, sadly, because I'm about to be gone from my house for the rest of the summer, and I'm just not going to take my digital candy thermometer and Kitchenaid mixer with me, you know? Nor am I going to subject someone else's kitchen to the unholy mess that is Candy Making. I have a few more potential etsy orders boxed up and ready to go, but I've been slowly taking them away from the store and giving them to people nearby, or eating them myself, because MAN they're good.

I've started working on the new earrings and necklaces I've had in mind for the etsy shop--so much better than my round 1 attempts--but it's hard to find time when I'm also trying to make some extra money to make all the extra ends that come with living in New York meet, plus commuting to see my man, and doing the academic work that doesn't end just because it's summer. You know the drill. The specifics of what takes up your time might be different but I'm certain that you all have projects that you're always just about to have time to do, in some futural utopia of leisure.

I've had a busy week, but it's all been either freelance work to make money or the kind of work that is work but doesn't feel like accomplishing anything: organizing stuff for the fall, answering emails, paying bills, picking up things at the office or searching for the cutest possible invitations for a party I'm having for my sister, or cleaning the house because I've got subletters coming soon. I keep wanting to feel like I've accomplished some of my own work, you know, writing about philosophy. But in order to do that I have to sit down and write about philosophy. Hopefully the time will soon come for such things.

On Wednesday, after a long day of cleaning house and transcribing tapes, I went and had a picnic in the Botanic Gardens with Jonathan and his family. I hadn't seen him for FOUR YEARS or something, because he's been living in CHINA. Man, it was nice to spend some time with him. Then, yesterday, after a long day of dealing with email and fall scheduling and then transcribing tapes, I went to an art opening with Strauss, and then we had sushi and witty reparte. Today, after a long day of errands and transcribing tapes, the last thing I wanted to do is dye my hair. But I made it happen anyway, because man, I've been feeling doggy lately. And there is nothing quite like how much of a lift I get from having dyed my hair three colors at once. All good.

Now I'm watching What Not to Wear and drinking white wine spritzers, home alone on a Friday night, utterly content.

Tomorrow I'm transcribing tapes. AND THEN! Going to the ROLLER DERBY.

9:35 p.m. - June 27, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me