is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh, come on.

Yesterday I had to go to the post office to mail two international packages and to buy cute stamps for the invitations for the party I'm having for my sister because 1) I sold some things on eBay and 2) I know my sister will notice if I use cute stamps instead of the liberty bell FOREVER stamps you get from the no-lines postage machine.

And yesterday I learned something. Before yesterday I would not have thought that anything could possibly keep one person at a postal window for a full 45 minutes. But, while I waited in line for that long, there were two windows open, and one of those windows was occupied during that whole span of time by one customer. I really wanted to find out what the hee-haw she was doing and what could possibly take that long. I stopped myself from saying to my neighbor-in-line "wow, before today I would not have thought it was possible for any postal business to take this long." Comic relief came when a 4-year old in a stroller said, loudly, "OH, COME ON!" Then another woman said to the tiny voice-of-the-crowd, "wow, you're like a full-grown man in stroller!"

I sent my packages, eventually. And was given a choice between only two kinds of "cute" stamps, neither of which were all that cute.

Then I walked across the street to Target, where I spent a really, really long time trying to pick out picture frames for various pieces of art. Many, many frames were put in my cart and then removed. I'm sure I looked crazy, if anyone was looking. I had a list of eight pieces of art that need some framing. Finally I settled on two frames, came home and painted them (they weren't the right color but were otherwise great, came with mats, and thus save me loads of money I would spend getting things custom framed), and one now hangs on my wall, in a space that has been blank for too long. It looks perfect. Unfortunately too many of my currently unframed art pieces are strangely sized and thus must continue to wait for money to be framed.

Looking around my living/dining/kitchen area right now, I am happy to see that every piece of art I can see, save one, is made by someone I know: Craig Hanna, Keith Petersen, Suzanne Hatt, Annie Galvin, Dave Eggers, Peter Gallo, me. Then there's the Marcel Dzama print (from a cute packet of cute artist prints from an 826 New York Art Show). It's cute. But maybe someday I'll find a new piece of art by someone I know and move Dzama-print to the office-room.

11:49 a.m. - July 02, 2008
sduckie - 2008-07-02 16:41:40
That sounds like my post office. And bank. And every CVS I've ever been to. I don't know what people do that takes them so long. I really don't!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me