is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chrome Rack.

I've been working on a tiny blog entry about my current up-and-down relationship with some kinds of feminist theory, but none of it seems ready for prime time yet.

The other night I was wearing a shirt I've had for, I'm estimating, 16 years, and someone complimented me on it. That launched me into a whole rapturous description of how I got the shirt, why I love it so much, and so on. Then I felt dumb for talking too much. Then I realized that often, when someone says something to me about something I'm wearing, I launch into a lengthy description of just how much I love what I'm wearing. Often this will occur in a group of people I don't know so well. And then I feel dumb.

Like the time I was wearing the black Betsey Johnson dress with the red apple print on it at an art opening for one of Gus' friends, got a random compliment, and then went on to describe in painstaking detail to a sizeable group of people the four different dresses I have in that same cut. I have enthusiasms. They are not always shared.

So it occurred to me that maybe I could semi-copy Evany and make a tiny Flickr blog showcasing my favorite garments. I would photograph them on hangers instead of on me, I think. And I would deliver unto anyone who cares to read them my rapturous stories about items of clothing (many of which, it turns out, were made by Betsey Johnson in the 1990s) that I cannot get enough of and have served me very, very well over a long span of time.

But then I realized I'm about to be away from my apartment for the better part of eight weeks, so I won't have access to the full extent of my wardrobe. So, who knows, maybe, maybe not, on whether all this will ever happen.

But man, let me tell you, the black, short-sleeved, snap-front shirt by Betsey Johnson, purchased by me on the insistence of Linda Liang in roughly 1992, has never, ever made me feel anything but foxy. And it is still true black in color, after all these years.

...I am an obsessive hand-washer of 80% of the clothing I own. Lots of people think this is weird. But then again, lots of people are astounded by how well my clothing holds up over time.

My sister just bought me an awesome chrome drying rack for the drying portion of my hand-washing regimen. And I was very, very excited about getting it. It was a great gift. But not even my sister could truly understand why I would be so excited about a drying rack.

It's something I use all the time! And it's NOT UGLY! And it won't break when I inevitably step on it when it is in its folded state. All good. Thank you, wonderful sister.

2:42 p.m. - July 08, 2008
Lily - 2008-07-10 17:55:57
I would be psyched to read your rapturous tales of clothing acquisition. Do it.
-------------------------------
Jennifer - 2008-07-12 23:53:07
I second Lily's comment!
-------------------------------
js - 2008-07-14 17:30:13
wow. well, me too, so maybe i'll start as soon as I get back to new york from this rustic vermont cabin with very little internet access!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me