is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lancome releases Crystal Pepsi.

Wow. So today I'm at Caroleen's in my pajamas reading proofs for my edited volume on Levinas and Nietzsche (yay, already listed on Amazon... and at Target? No picture available because I haven't even seen the cover design yet...) and, while taking a little email break I note that TODAY ONLY, if you run on your feet to the nearest Sephora, you can buy Lancome's latest wisdom-filled creation: VIBRATING MASCARA. What?! The wand oscillates 7000 times per minute. That sounds crazy to me.

And, it's called �scillation. You know when they add a diacritical mark to a letter that you're dealing with something SERIOUS.

It still sounds crazy to me. But if putting a vibrating gunk-covered wand near your eyeballs sounds excellent to you, be warned that you can purchase it TODAY ONLY. And then not again until December. Unless in the meantime the idea flops like Crystal Pepsi. Or Betamax.

But then again, we now have vibrating razors for lady leg-shaving. Who would have thought THAT was a good idea? Not me, and I haven't bought one. But I see, upon doing a li'l websearch, that Estee Lauder will also be releasing a vibrating mascara.

So now I'm going to stop proofing my book and instead go invent some vibrating shampoo. Or, wait for it, because this one is really going to catch on: a vibrating SEX TOY! I am a philosopher.

10:39 a.m. - July 31, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me