is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today's Unlikely Reference to Voltaire.

I went to Recchiuti the other day, on my way home from taking the ferry to see my dad in Vallejo. If you read this diary you must know by now that Recchiuti is the best chocolatier ever, in my estimation.

While there I bought one vanilla bean marshmallow, two star anise pink peppercorn truffles, two spring jasmine tea truffles and two fleur de sel caramels. I immediately ate the marshmallow, to compare it to the ones I've been making at home (following the recipe from the Recchiuti book). And you know what? I like mine better!

Then I ate one of the spring jasmine truffles. Delicious. A delicate taste of flowers and tea and beautifully dark chocolate.

I stuffed the rest of the truffles in my purse and went home (to Caroleen's).

And then I forgot about them! For three whole days! I just retrieved them this morning, and the five remaining truffles had been mashed and melted into a mystery mass. That's sad of course, but it's a happy kind of sad. Because now I have the best of all possible candy bars (which would make of it a Candide-bar, iykwim, and I'm guessing some will and some won't�and I can't tell whether I'm pleased or nauseated by how "clever" it is). No matter where I bite into the Candide-bar (or Pangloss-patty) I am guaranteed an explosion of great pleasureful flavor. Nothing could be wrong in a world featuring such a block of chocolate.

2:08 p.m. - August 11, 2008
Sherry - 2008-08-12 18:24:51
Interesting blog!
-------------------------------
That guy Chris - 2008-08-22 04:42:33
I've been reading 'Candide,' along with some other stuff I should have read in college but was too stoned. Reading a lot of freethinkers stuff, and that fits right in. You know who Robert Ingersoll was?
-------------------------------
js - 2008-09-02 21:40:54
howdy chris. there is no end to the things i should have read in college. not to mention graduate school. tell me about robert ingersoll!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me