is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

two separate qualities that may or may not overlap.

These glasses make Marco and Evany's colorful retro-modern kitchen look even more 3D than it naturally is, like maybe it's 5D or something.

That's Dave Knupp in the background, a birthday boy at the time this photo was taken (Marco took it; I just snagged it from Evany's photostream on Flickr).

Today I was walking down the street in Boston looking for my hotel, and when I spotted it my heart sank. It looked old and dingy. Oh well, I thought. That's what happens when you wait until the last minute to make reservations for a conference that 8000 people are attending.

But when I got into my room everything was great! I am on the 24th floor! My room is nice! I have an actual door that opens out onto an actual balcony, with an actual really lovely view of the city and the river.

It's like how when, on the Berkeley campus, every time you look at the building called Evans, you feel like, ugh, what is it doing here, it is not so pretty. But then, when you're IN Evans, you have this great view of everything lovely around you, in part because you can't see Evans.

The Radisson is the Evans Hall of Boston. Except that inside the Radisson things are very nice, whereas inside Evans you're still in a bunch of semi-sterile-seeming classrooms and offices.

So far I'm saying that if you have to book a hotel in Boston, and the Radisson is in your price range, go for it. Unless you want a hotel that looks pretty from the outside.

I have to give a paper tomorrow at 8am. Eight. Ay. Em. I am filled with dread already, because I am not a morning person. I am going to have to wake up unforgivably early just to be awake enough to be semi-cogent in time to give my paper. And then I'll be tired all day. It's sad. I'll live.

I'm just now back from a dinner with my co-panelists for tomorrow morning. We had a good dinner, good conversation, and perhaps a bit more wine than was advisable, given what I've just told you.

In other news, my friend Alison has started blogging. You may remember her from Amherst, or from her visit to Haverford. She lives down under, literally, and is awesome and smart. That's right, awesome AND smart, two separate qualities that may or may not overlap in various human persons. So perhaps you'd like to read what she has to say about cool things like street art. READ IT.

11:48 p.m. - August 27, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me